Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Olympus LS-10 with external mics?  (Read 3951 times)

Offline melbourne83

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Olympus LS-10 with external mics?
« on: June 13, 2008, 03:19:45 PM »
I've recently purchased the Olympus LS-10 and just bought a pair of Core Sound Cardioid's w/ batterbox. I'm new to taping and want to record an outdoor event next weekend.

I was wondering if anyone here ever tried the LS-10 with external mics? How did your recordings turn out? the manual of the LS-10 says you shouldnt connect external mic's to the LS-10's line-in jack. I'm not a tech pro and confused now...  ???

Offline gearscout

• Taperssection Regular
Re: Olympus LS-10 with external mics?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2008, 07:13:27 AM »
The microphones go into the Mic In jack.  If you had a pre-amplifier, you would use the Line In.  Even with the batteries, you are using Mic Level inputs, not a pre-amplifier.

Do a test and see how they sound with "Mic Power" turned on in the LS-10 and with that same Menu item set to "Off."  You may notice a difference. 

Your Core Sound battery box includes a "Y" conversion cable that will join those two mono mics into a single stereo (binaural) input...which is the LS-10's "Mic In." 

The LS-10 does pretty well with many external microphones.  I found it to accent the "high end" a bit, compared to the Sony PCM-D50, but that takes a few seconds to adjust in Audacity or another audio editor if it doesn't please you.

Hope that helps!

Offline flintstone

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2008, 05:32:58 PM »
The LS-10 does very well with external mics.  Set the mic sensitivity to "Low" for best results.

Offline melbourne83

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 12:13:03 PM »
thanks for the heads up. just received the mics and now looking forward to the weekend.