Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank  (Read 2512 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« on: January 09, 2009, 08:18:36 AM »
Has anyone used this?

http://www.popcornhour.com/onlinestore/

it's reasonably priced ($250), supports FLAC (among many other audio/video file types), has internet connectivity (both wifi and ethernet cable), can play files off a local network, can act as a USB host and play files straight from external drives, etc, etc...

it also has optical out (and HDMI for video).  My question is, does it support 24/96 playback of FLAC files?

Offline MattD

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4641
  • Gender: Male
Re: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2009, 10:04:45 PM »
Are you following my browser history? :)

This one is stated to support 24-bit FLAC. (link) No word on sample rates.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 10:06:23 PM by MattD »
Out of the game … for now?

Offline MattD

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4641
  • Gender: Male
Re: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2009, 10:19:12 PM »
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showthread.php?tid=12066

AWESOME!

Edit to add video review - not because the review is particularly enlightening, but because they demonstrate the UI a little bit.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 11:03:08 PM by MattD »
Out of the game … for now?

Offline Ed.

  • your popsicle's melting
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8669
  • Gender: Male
  • FJ Baby!
Re: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 02:56:20 PM »
I have this, I use it for x264 video mostly, but it works great.  I have it wired, so no idea on how the wireless works, but its played everything I've thrown at it.

The interface is kind of lacking, but you can skin it.  I think you need a hard drive attached to it if you want to skin/mod it.  I haven't bothered.  It kind of looks like a senior thesis project, but it does what its supposed to do.

I can try 24/96 for you, let me see if I have any handy.  I have it hooked up via hdmi.


Because nothing says "I have lots of money and am sort of confused as to how to spend it" like Bose.

Offline Ed.

  • your popsicle's melting
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8669
  • Gender: Male
  • FJ Baby!
Re: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 03:09:16 PM »
Just tried it...it played 24/48 stuff without a hitch over hdmi.  24/96 looked like it should be playing, but no sound over hdmi.


Because nothing says "I have lots of money and am sort of confused as to how to spend it" like Bose.

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 03:13:02 PM »
Ed - thanks for trying out the 24 bit stuff.  so no sound with 24/96 over HDMI.  Can you hook up the optical out to something to test that?

Offline Ed.

  • your popsicle's melting
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8669
  • Gender: Male
  • FJ Baby!
Re: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2009, 04:41:43 PM »
Yeah, I'll try that out tonight...if I can find my old optical cable.


Because nothing says "I have lots of money and am sort of confused as to how to spend it" like Bose.

Offline Ed.

  • your popsicle's melting
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8669
  • Gender: Male
  • FJ Baby!
Re: Popcorn Hour A-110 - networked media tank
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2009, 02:33:02 PM »
Well, it took me awhile, but trial and error works!

You can't have HDMI anywhere near it, and I couldn't even have hdmi registered on my receiver for that input, even when it wasn't being used.  I had to switch my TV Mode on Popcorn Hour to component 1080p 60hz and run components before the optical would even register.

However, when I got everything figured out, running component vid and optical audio I was able to play flac 24/96.  I only played one song, but it played without a hitch.


Because nothing says "I have lots of money and am sort of confused as to how to spend it" like Bose.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.207 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF