Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Field recorder + mics for producing a CD of flute music?  (Read 5504 times)

Offline Justinasia

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Field recorder + mics for producing a CD of flute music?
« on: January 24, 2009, 12:34:46 AM »
Hi everyone. I am new to this forum, and hoping that you guys can help me out with your advice. I'm a musician living in Japan. I play the Japanese bamboo flute, which has subtle a subtle sound, complex tone colour. I want to make a CD to sell publicly, some of which to be duets with another player of said flute. For duets, we sit on the floor and play can play quite close together if needed. (tips on positioning also appreciated!) I want to record in a countryside temple as I expect a more natural sound than a studio - some natural reverb, and acceptable background noise (bells birds and no traffic, no problem). Too inconvenient/expensive to have a pro come with us to record, so I want to try to do it myself. With no experience, this will be difficult but I am prepared to learn. Could you guys help e understand what I will need?

For a recorder, I am thinking about these:
Korg MR-1, Fostex FR-2LE and Sony PCM D50.

If I don't need more than 2 mics, will any of the above be high enough sound quality (with external mics) to make a CD? (I don't need top quality but I want it to sound non-amateur, acceptable as a proper CD.) How do they compare to each other in terms of sound quality?

If you think I need more than 2 mics, should I consider the Edirol R-44? Or could I use my old microtrack usefully for 2 mics while one of these better devices for the other 2?

As for mics, I have the SONY ECM-MS957. Is that totally unacceptable for a proper CD? Someone is also suggesting I buy DPA 4060 pair. They look great for carrying around, but would they be good enough for this CD? If both of these are unacceptable I think I should better hire some mics rather than spend too much.