Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Curious about what everyone does with matrix  (Read 6041 times)

Offline atxwolfattack

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Curious about what everyone does with matrix
« on: March 22, 2007, 08:29:03 PM »
Do most people use 2 recorders, one for mics, and one for into the board? Or do you use a mixer or a recorder with multitracks, something like that?

I am curious about trying to get a soundboard recording soon, i have never done it before, but from what i have been told, if there is a choice between only sbd or only mics, then choose mics, since not every instrument does through the board.

Offline wbrisette

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • Homepage
Re: Curious about what everyone does with matrix
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2007, 12:02:55 PM »
I've done it both ways. I've done a few shows (long ago) where I plugged in one DAT recorder to the board and then another for my mics. The amount of work involved sucked for what ended up being a mediocre recording. I've also tried to use a mixer. The issue that you run into there is the delay that you have to put on the soundboard channels if you're doing a mixdown out of the mixer (as opposed to placing all channels on their own track/channel). Some of the newer ENG mixers and other types of mixers have some delay options, so those help.

Today I use a multi-channel recorder, so I just place everything on a separate track and mix everything later. But, it's an expensive option and obviously not one that is available to everybody.

Depending on what it is you are trying to do and how much work you want to do in post production, you should try the multiple recorder option first since that's the cheapest. Then try the mixer. If all else fails, then try a multi-channel recorder, but it might not be worth it to you to go that route.

Wayne
Mics: Earthworks SR-77 (MP), QTC-1 (MP)

Editing: QSC RMX2450, MOTU 2408 MK3, Earthworks Sigma 6.2