Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony TCD-D100 complete NEWBIE - Help!  (Read 3743 times)

Offline guitard

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
Sony TCD-D100 complete NEWBIE - Help!
« on: January 13, 2006, 08:22:31 AM »
I've recently acquired a Sony TCD-D100 - and I'm planning on taping my first show tomorrow night.  It'll be just the deck and a Sony ECM-719 mic (please don't laugh or poke fun at the mic - I'll upgrade when I get the cash to do so).  I'm not expecting a masterpiece - just want to get something that sounds listenable that I can share around.

It's going to be the band Drowning Pool playing a big, boxy gymnasium.  I'm sure it's going to be plenty loud.

I'll be in stealth mode - but security won't be a big problem.

Based on reading through the manual and several threads here, here's my plan for the settings/positioning - please point out any changes I need to make:

1.  plug in through the line-in jack
2.  record at 48kHz (as opposed to 44.1kHz)
3.  use the manual adjust for the recording level, and set it at around 5 for starters - try to sneak one adjustment if possible - and then set the lock feature 
4.  Set the mic ATT switch at 20dB (as opposed to 0dB)
5.  record in SP mode
6.  get in the center of the floor area between the soundboard and the stage (around 50-75 feet between each) - staying clear of the moshpit (I'll pretty much be able to stand wherever I want)
7.  Clip the mic to the collar of my jacket

Any help will be greatly appreciated!  Thanks!
Mics: Schoeps MK41s & MK41Vs >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Canon HF G70 (4K), Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 7D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline rustoleum

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • AKG 481s->MiaGi IIs->MiniMe->MTII