Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Schoeps VMS 5 U  (Read 7590 times)

beenjammin

• Trade Count: (0)
Schoeps VMS 5 U
« on: February 10, 2015, 10:14:21 PM »
It seems as though the standalone preamp is becoming a thing of the past. That said, I wonder how the Schoeps VMS 5 U holds up today as a preamp. Are any of you still running this?

I record mostly nature and the odd street f/x. (I spend time in this forum because I learn so much from tapers and I've enjoyed many of your recordings.)

I've been running a Schoeps rig for two years now and love it. I have two MK2s, and one MK8, which I run through CMC 6 bodies. 

I have a few questions. I've long been interested in the active cables for the series. As I understand it, the VMS 5 U allows one to run active cables without the CMC bodies. Is this correct?

Also, I've read a bit about 60v powering to the capsules. As I understand it, this increases the transient response of the capsule. Am I right in the understanding that running active cables out of the VMS 5 U provides the MK caps with a direct 60v? If so, has anyone noticed a difference in sound quality?

Offline F.O.Bean

• Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: Schoeps VMS 5 U
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 11:08:55 PM »
Yes, running the 5u makes the bodies obsolete! You'd just run capsules>KCY>vms5u! I run a kcy only input version of the 5u, called the vms02ib! Whats nice about the vms5u is that you can run a kcy directly into it, OR run the capsules>bodies>5u as well if you don't have a need for the KCY cable ;) Eventually, I'd like to get a 5u, since it has a hardwired/permanent battery tray AND has the ability to run XLR inputs as well as the kcy input!