Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: video cameras?  (Read 4579 times)

Offline newtdecay

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
video cameras?
« on: January 20, 2007, 10:10:40 PM »
I'm looking to invest in a new camera for the purpose of taping live shows. I have been taping Audio shows for 4 years, and during that time have filmed one show. I currently have a gigantic camera, and I am looking to not only downsize, but to upgrade as well.

I do not know a damned thing about cameras, except PLAY, RECORD & how to attach the thing to my television, so I turn to you for help.

I have a budget of up to $300 (I will be purchasing online, not in a store). & I am looking for something that will be more discrete & lightweight & will come out great in the end (after I transfer to DVD).

I was searching eBay initially & there are the variations I do not understand the difference of - what should I look for in a camera & why?

DIGITAL VIDEO CAMERAS:

4.0 MINI DV Digital Video Camera

Will that do? How many megapixels do I want & why?

I don't want anything to extravengant - just something that will do the job - a decent job.

thanks for your help (for those that do help)!

xoxox.
newtdecay.
http://db.etree.org/newtdecay

Offline treehugger

• Taperssection Regular
Re: video cameras?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2007, 03:18:48 AM »
I'm looking to invest in a new camera for the purpose of taping live shows. I have been taping Audio shows for 4 years, and during that time have filmed one show. I currently have a gigantic camera, and I am looking to not only downsize, but to upgrade as well.

I do not know a damned thing about cameras, except PLAY, RECORD & how to attach the thing to my television, so I turn to you for help.

I have a budget of up to $300 (I will be purchasing online, not in a store). & I am looking for something that will be more discrete & lightweight & will come out great in the end (after I transfer to DVD).