Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Speaker (floor-standing) Question  (Read 6968 times)

Offline todd e

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • ***Team Schoeps***
Speaker (floor-standing) Question
« on: June 28, 2004, 05:11:17 PM »
Well, my folks have been generous enough to give me some loot for the birthday and I wanted to check with you playback gurus to see what type of speakers i should get.  Currently we have the E/S series surround (old verision of polk and they rock), but since I am moving out soon, I need to replace these speakers.  Any suggestions within the 500-600 range?  I'd rather not go straight to crutchfield and be 'sold' a nice pair of consumer speakers, if possible.  Thanks for any help.  I am fairly new to thinking about speakers

zowie

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Speaker (floor-standing) Question
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2004, 05:59:02 PM »
Check out the large Athena floor stander (FS2?), currently a ridiculous steal at $399 from audio advisor.  I think they have Best Buy distribution if you want to get a half-assed demo.  Enough bass to do video w/o a sub.  Only good full range speaker I know of in that price range (but there are also several good choices of monitors).

jpschust

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2004, 06:37:00 PM »
also a used pair of swans divas will be right in that range.

Offline todd e

• ***Team Schoeps***
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2004, 09:53:49 AM »
Check out the large Athena floor stander (FS2?), currently a ridiculous steal at $399 from audio advisor.  I think they have Best Buy distribution if you want to get a half-assed demo.  Enough bass to do video w/o a sub.  Only good full range speaker I know of in that price range (but there are also several good choices of monitors).