Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: cheap and cheerful stealth microphones  (Read 12738 times)

Offline mrblister

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Newbie
cheap and cheerful stealth microphones
« on: June 08, 2009, 02:59:24 PM »
I know I  am probably setting myself up to be shot down in flames....but has anyone here had experience or could recommend some cheap and cheerful stealth microphones.

The reason I ask is that I am a relative newbie and I use my beloved minidisc recorders as well as a Tascam DR07 to record concerts.  I started off with a Sony clip-on ECM 719 which gave clear results but quite tinny and usually needed a bit of bass boosting in post production.  Wanting to move up I now have a pair of Church Audio CA11 -  unlike the Sony these produce masses of bass but every single time produce muffled recordings that require lots and lots of fiddling around with equalisation to get semi-reasonable results.

I don't require the ulitmate in hi-fi quality just an easily managed clear reminder recording of a gig - any recommendations

(Virtually none of the gigs I attend have extreme spl )

Offline Church-Audio

• Trade Count: (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: cheap and cheerful stealth microphones
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 03:01:30 PM »
Where are you placing your mics? My ca-11 mics should not sound muffled at all.

Chris
for warranty returns email me at
EMAIL Sales@church-audio.com

Offline mrblister

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 03:14:01 PM »
Hi Chris.