Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Help in Deciding Small Mic for Live High db Recordings  (Read 2451 times)

Offline BassHead

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Help in Deciding Small Mic for Live High db Recordings
« on: March 03, 2017, 05:01:50 PM »
Hello everyone, I'm new to all this recording equipment spec info. Like the title says im looking for a mic that is small and preferably plugs into my phone, that I can also record high db SPL with no distortion. Few Questions
1. What exactly does sound sensitivity mean? For example I'm looking at a mic that has open ended sensitivity of -54db, what does that mean? and how does it relate to total SPL?
2. I have a recording app on my phone that lets me control input gain +- 20db. What exactly does that entail?
3. Do any of you have any recommendations for a small high SPL recording device that isnt over $100?

Offline Life In Rewind

• Taperssection Member
    • www.rovingsign.com
Re: Help in Deciding Small Mic for Live High db Recordings
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2017, 06:56:05 PM »
Hello everyone, I'm new to all this recording equipment spec info. Like the title says im looking for a mic that is small and preferably plugs into my phone, that I can also record high db SPL with no distortion. Few Questions
1. What exactly does sound sensitivity mean? For example I'm looking at a mic that has open ended sensitivity of -54db, what does that mean? and how does it relate to total SPL?
2. I have a recording app on my phone that lets me control input gain +- 20db. What exactly does that entail?
3. Do any of you have any recommendations for a small high SPL recording device that isnt over $100?

This guy is selling a TASCAM DR-60D for $90.00 - nice deal.

Otherwise the TASCAM DR-60D is one of the cheaper, more capable decks out there.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1084690-REG/tascam_dr_60mkii_portable_recorder_for_dslr.html