Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Finalizing first setup: Mic stand for pair of AKG C 1000's?  (Read 17944 times)

Offline HelenKellerwilliams

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hi everyone,

After lurking here for a few weeks and speaking with a family member who works as a professional in recording I've decided on the gear for my first rig for live concert recording. I hope to record both small shows (clubs under 500) and large ones (venues indoor/outdoor over 5,000). I basically now just need some pointers towards a good setup to hold all the pieces together!

I'm getting a pair of AKG C 1000's and using the Zoom H4 as a recorder. I'm looking for a sturdy but collapsible mic stand and bar for these microphones that can hopefully also hold the Zoom H4 (again, I am a noob, not sure where else it would go!)

Any advice is sincerely appreciated!

Offline goodcooker

• Trade Count: (43)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • goes to 11
Re: Finalizing first setup: Mic stand for pair of AKG C 1000's?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2015, 03:15:14 PM »

The mic stands that most folks around here use are actually light stands typically used for holding lights for photography purposes.

Search for the height and footprint that you want on sites like B and H Photo, Adorama, Amazon, Ebay....

I use a 9 foot, 3 section aluminum stand from Promaster that I picked up at my local pro photo shop for around $50. I like it because it has a fairly small footprint. Other popular brands are Manfrotto (spendy but best quality), Impact (similar to Manfrotto but cheaper), Avenger (cheap).