Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie questions about JB3, patching, etc.  (Read 2446 times)

Offline aseachangethis

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Newbie questions about JB3, patching, etc.
« on: March 15, 2004, 10:52:22 PM »
Hey Everyone,

I am a complete newbie with taping, and I'd like to jump into the game.  I can't really afford that much, so I figured I would start just learning how to patch into a rig for recording.  From what I have learned from reading this board, the Nomad JB3 is pretty good for storage and such, and can function similar to a DAT recorder.  I was wondering, if I purchased a JB3, what else I would need for recording.  I am assuming that the JB3 doesn't transfer with 7 pin cables, so I was wondering what I needed.  Do I need anything past cables to patch into a rig?  What is the recommended etiquette for asking for a patch?  

Also, some somewhat unrelated questions to show taping about the JB3.  I am a composition major at Oberlin College, and need a way to cheaply tape pieces.  Most people here use MD recorders with the small MD stereo mics.  I was wondering if I can use the JB3 the same way to record direct from those mics like a MD recorder.  Thanks for all of the help!

Offline mgleason007

• Taperssection Member
  • Mmmmm, yummy
    • My Bootleg List
Re:Newbie questions about JB3, patching, etc.
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2004, 11:05:51 PM »
Hey Everyone,