Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Trying to edit my first recording.  (Read 1889 times)

Offline Jarguitar86

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Trying to edit my first recording.
« on: August 14, 2013, 11:09:39 AM »
I taped my first show over the weekend.  I don't quite have the $ for mics, preamp & the like, so I just used the built in stereo mics on my Roland R-05. Having never recorded digitally, I feel like my recording turned out really good! It's a little bassy, so I used the High Pass Filter @6db in Audacity. That cleaned the heaviness out of the bass, but it almost sounds like the recording is a little distorted on some of the bass drum hits and certain bass notes & that's not present in the original recording. It doesn't look like anything is peaking in the file, but it sure sounds like it. Does anyone have any advice for a rookie? I have no clue what to adjust from here. I'm really new to this and don't know a lot about the technical side. I also have very little clue how to do editing in Audacity. I just tried the High Pass Filter b/c it seemed recommended by other tapers with the same problem & it worked well, but I can tell this recording can be made light years better with the right knowledge.  I have the original saved files and then the ones I'm trying to edit, so there's nothing lost with trying to experiment.   

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Trying to edit my first recording.
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 11:15:42 AM »
An alternative to the HPF is just a level notch EQ filter from about 300hz down. It should have a soft bow at the top end near 300hz as it rejoins level but knock off a few db that way. Kick drums have 2 sounds; a primary oomph at around 100hz or so and then a click that is around 500-700hz (maybe slightly higher depending on the mix). So without sample demonstrating the problem I can't offer much other advice.