Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Lense Question for Canon Digital Rebel  (Read 6154 times)

Offline hogan20a

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
Lense Question for Canon Digital Rebel
« on: December 08, 2004, 11:07:25 AM »
I bought a Digital Rebel and I am looking for a good zoom/telephoto lense that will work well for shooting concerts.  I'm new to photography and there are so many to choose from, so any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Adam

jpschust

Re: Lense Question for Canon Digital Rebel
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2004, 11:10:48 AM »
what is your budget on this?

btw, you may end up doing better for yourself on a prime rather than a zoom.

Offline dmonterisi

• Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Stomach Full of Regret
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2004, 11:15:24 AM »
how far away do you plan to shoot?  the 50mm/f1.4 ($300), 50mm/f1.8 ($70), 85/f1.8 (~$300), 100/f2 ($300) would be good bets.  i think the 50mm/1.8 and 85mm/1.8 would be a great combo for under $400. 

zooms will be much more expensive.

Offline MattD

• Taper Emeritus
  • Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2004, 11:21:05 AM »
I'll assume you're in super-low budget mode unless you post otherwise and recommend the 50mm f/1.8 II. $75 or less. More money gets you faster glass (f/1.4), or more versatility (zoom).

Edit: Do the three of us answer every Canon question here?
Out of the game … for now?

Offline hogan20a

• Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2004, 11:25:38 AM »
Well I don't have an exact budget, probably $500 or less (I'd like to do $300 or less, but I'm open to suggestions).  I have a 35mm camera with a 75-300mm lense which I really like, so I'd love something similar to that if possible for my budget.

Thanks,
Adam

Offline dmonterisi

• Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Stomach Full of Regret