Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: how to record live concerts that produce Sounboard quality audio  (Read 8719 times)

Offline Chillin2611

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hello Everyone, I am new to trying to learn how to tape live concerts. I do not know where to begin. I was on Youtube ( Reference on youtube: User is Jontebus and his videos are awesome specifically Ghost @ Lisebergshallen, Gothenburg, Sweden - 2015-11-11) this user and I were chatting and he said he uses SHURE microphones to get that awesome sound but he never told me which model he uses. He referenced me to this dialogue page so here I am. My goal is to make an audience recording of a live concert with excellent audio sound. I don't know what kind of recorder to buy and I don't know what kind of microphones to use. I have read about Sony PCM-10 I see that recorder referenced many times from this site. I am a step by step learner. The bottom line is I want to learn how to record live concerts that will make and excellent audience recording  can anybody recommend quality microphones and audio recorder. Please and Thank You.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2015, 06:02:48 PM by Chillin2611 »

Offline nulldogmas

• Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • How I Escaped My Uncertain Fate
Re: how to record live concerts that produce Sounboard quality audio
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2015, 12:02:04 AM »
"I want to learn how to tape a live concert with studio quality audio sound."

If I could answer that, I wouldn't need the talcum powder...

Seriously, it's a question with many possible answers, depending on what kind of music, where you're recording it, whether you'll be recording in the open or not, your budget, etc. There are lots of existing topics already here comparing different kinds of recorders, mics, and recording technique — you might want to start by reading through those, and then ask questions about anything you're still unclear about.