Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Adding a Mic through mixer?  (Read 2242 times)

Offline lsom

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Adding a Mic through mixer?
« on: March 09, 2010, 03:51:45 PM »
Newbie here -- I'm taping a band through a Denecke AD-20 preamp/digital converter feeding into an Iriver HP140. The Denecke has two xlr inputs. We might want to add a 3rd or 4th mic. I could use my little beringer mixer and go analog into the iriver I guess and just forget about the Denecke. Is there any way (or advantage) to use the output of the mixer into one channel of the Deneke? I'd imagine that this probably wouldn't work. That is, I'd be preamping the mic in the mixer then sending it to another preamp in the Denecke (and maybe overwhelming the latter).  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Offline nameloc01

• Taperssection Member
  • Cleveland,USA
Re: Adding a Mic through mixer?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2010, 07:55:04 PM »
looks like youre wanting the digital signal mostly? how many channels does your Behringer have? provide phantom? if you have enough channels I'd just run the various mics into the Behringer then out into the recorder, or i guess you could get the appropriate cables and run it through the AD20 first to convert it, mixing it on the fly.

ps. what kind of mics are you using and what are you using to power them? the AD20 wont power the mics, its just a simple preamp.

I have a Behringer 802, never used it for recording at all, just for post mixing.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2010, 07:57:56 PM by nameloc01 »
ATu853 (c/o)
Denecke PS-2
Sony MZ-M100 (x2)
Sony PCM M-10
Ixxx XX-X
Ixxx XX-X

https://www.flickr.com/photos/46018790@N03/sets/

Offline lsom

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2010, 10:04:30 PM »