Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Advice Needed for Recording an Acoustic Duo....  (Read 2714 times)

Offline baustin

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
Advice Needed for Recording an Acoustic Duo....
« on: August 18, 2006, 12:46:14 PM »
Looking for some advice...

I work in a restaurant here in Charleston. Every Sunday, we haved a father and son duo who play in the dining room. Really cool, we're a 4 star, 4 diamond restaurant, and they play The Doors, Sublime, Gordon Lightfoot and Pink Floyd medleys. Most people aren't really paying attention unless its especially slow in the dining room or we get them wasted.

Anyway, the son stands and plays a violin, the father sits and plays a classical guitar. The son plays unamplified, the father has a mic in his guitar and plays through a simple little amp and a single small speaker. There are no vocals. The lounge area where they play is hard wood, the dining room is green marble, so their sound travels. On the same note, the sounds of the restaurant are going to travel, too.

Basically, I'm trying to figure out the best way to mic these guys while leaving the smallest footprint. I was thinking either a card or hypercard, about 12" above the violin. Then, a hypercard about 6"-12" in front of the guitar and a patch if possible out of the amp. My only gear as of right now is a pair of Neumann u89i's, the EAA-PSP2, and a 744t. I may be able to get hold of a a pair of km184's and an m248 if need be, but like I said, I'd like to leave as small a footprint as possible. Definitely want to run the u89i's though.

Any thoughts? Feedback? Advice?

-BA

Offline BWolf

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Always on the prowl...
    • Etree Trading List
Re: Advice Needed for Recording an Acoustic Duo....
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2006, 01:32:03 PM »
I've had great luck with M/S for close acoustic. 
"The best jazz is funky, and the best funk is jazzy" -SMOOTH