Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Talk between songs  (Read 7432 times)

Offline caitjim

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Talk between songs
« on: December 13, 2018, 11:56:25 AM »
Hi

I'm new to all this and have what might be a stupid question.

Ive just recorded a show and am very pleased with the sound of the music BUT there was a lot of talking from the artist between songs and this has come out quite quiet. Do I -

- Edit each talking bit separately as an individual track to get the volume right?

- Put up with it and turn the vol up when listening to the talk?

Thanks in advance.

PS If anyone can point me in the direction of a Dummies how to process a live music recording I'd be eternally grateful. I used Ocenaudio for mine and was pleased but I'm not sure I used all of its possibilities.

Offline tim in jersey

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Talk between songs
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2018, 12:15:38 PM »
I track out tunes so that the tunes start at the markers and leave the banter/crowd at the end if ever wanted...

Offline heathen

• Trade Count: (23)
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2018, 12:17:19 PM »
You could try parallel compression: https://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=137594.0
Mics: AT4050ST | AT4031 | AT853 (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3 | Sennheiser e614 | Sennheiser MKE2 | DPA 4061 Pre: CA9200 Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline tim in jersey

• Site Supporter
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2018, 12:21:41 PM »
Just noticed yer new here, caitjim. Welcome! Friendly bunch here. Check your wallet at the door, and have fun!

Offline DavidPuddy

• Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • If it's too loud, turn it down.
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2018, 01:56:55 PM »
I track out tunes so that the tunes start at the markers and leave the banter/crowd at the end if ever wanted...