Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2  (Read 53171 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #75 on: March 11, 2012, 04:37:33 PM »
I've go one on order so I'm going to need to order some interconnects.  What seems to work best with the aerco.  I'm thinking right angle rca's for the output and stubby xlr's exiting at 12:00 (which would be toward the bottom).  Anyone have any suggestions before I order?  Thanks.

Contact Ted Gakidis.  He made both cables for my Aerco: 

1) right angle stubby female XLR > straight stubby male XLR - pair of cables

2) right angle dual stubby RCA > right angle 3.5mm stereo - Y cable


Offline aaronji

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2229
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #76 on: March 13, 2012, 05:15:08 PM »
^^^ I also got chopped straight males for the Aerco end.  They stick out (more or less) the same amount as the gain knobs...

Offline drewski1986

  • Trade Count: (19)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #77 on: March 13, 2012, 07:38:44 PM »
^^Thanks. I'm going with straight stubbies into the aerco.  At first I thought r/a stubbies but now after looking at it, straight stubbies will be fine.  r/a rca's out to stubby xlr's into my r-44 and I'm all set.

Offline stober

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1557
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #78 on: March 13, 2012, 08:35:58 PM »
^^Thanks. I'm going with straight stubbies into the aerco.  At first I thought r/a stubbies but now after looking at it, straight stubbies will be fine.  r/a rca's out to stubby xlr's into my r-44 and I'm all set.
Nice move Drew getting an Aerco.

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #79 on: April 03, 2012, 10:11:45 AM »
Jerry's new email address:

jerry@jchamkis.com


His old address will be ending soon.  Please update your personal contact list.

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #80 on: April 08, 2012, 11:21:08 AM »
My Aerco is on its way back from Jerry, with the new lithium mod.  Just in time for Wanee.  I'll up pictures of the mod later in the week. 

Offline acidjack

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5820
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #81 on: April 10, 2012, 02:03:03 PM »
My Aerco is on its way back from Jerry, with the new lithium mod.  Just in time for Wanee.  I'll up pictures of the mod later in the week.

Just got mine.  Sure is pretty.  And nice and compact. The only not-compact component is the enormous AC adapter... It's like 2x the size of the unit!  But who cares - it works!

Also can be powered, per Jerry, through the input in the side of the MP-2, 9-12V, either polarity.  So in a pinch, I could stick a DVD batt or Tekkeon in there and keep going....

Mics: Schoeps MK4V, MK41V, MK5, MK22> CMC6, KCY 250/5, KC5, NBob; MBHO MBP603/KA200N, AT 3031, DPA 4061 w/ d:vice, Naiant X-X, AT 853c, shotgun, Nak300
Pres/Power: Aerco MP2, tinybox v2  [KCY], CA-UBB
Decks: Sound Devices MixPre 6, Zoom F8, M10, D50

My recordings on nyctaper.com: http://www.nyctaper.com/?tag=acidjack | LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/acidjack | twitter: http://www.twitter.com/acidjacknyc | Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/acidjacknyc

Offline aaronji

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2229
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #82 on: April 10, 2012, 02:51:59 PM »
^^^ He also said you can run it AC via the charger (although it is pretty huge).  Maybe you won't need external power too often, though.  I haven't done a full battery test, but I did run it for 6.5 hours on the lithium polymers with no problems (P48, 2.8 mA per channel)...

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #83 on: April 13, 2012, 07:50:34 AM »
Pictures of the Lithium mod.  The AC adapter is custom made and larger than the MP-2.  Jerry added the charging connector on the back, so the batteries never leave the unit. 
« Last Edit: April 13, 2012, 07:52:26 AM by spyder9 »

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #84 on: April 13, 2012, 07:52:08 AM »
A few more....

Offline aaronji

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2229
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #85 on: April 13, 2012, 09:15:56 AM »
^^^ What is the switch protruding from the left-hand side (with the knobs facing you)? 

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #86 on: April 13, 2012, 09:20:22 AM »
^^^ What is the switch protruding from the left-hand side (with the knobs facing you)?

3 way switch for turning off the phantom power, so I can operate as a straight preamp.  Comes in handy when your transferring tapes, recording off the SBD, etc.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2012, 09:22:56 AM by spyder9 »

Offline Myco

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7569
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #87 on: April 13, 2012, 09:43:23 AM »
I'm curious about what you really gain with this lithium battery mod? I've been running my Aerco with internal 9V's connected as a backup, but using a lithium dvd battery connected as the main power source, and I've been able to run for an entire weekend festival without any concern for battery power. I see no benefit to this if it is only to get rid of using alkaline batteries. I've suffered no dropouts, noise introduced to my recordings, or anything negative in using it the way that I have been using it. It's not that much bigger a footprint in actual use, and much smaller that that big charger block for house power, just a wal-wart cord that plugs into the dvd battery for charging.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2012, 09:50:18 AM by Myco »
Microtech Gefell M200: M20/M21/M27 caps> Bumblebee MiAGi-II/Darktrain silver cable's/"Chuck" Belden cables> Aerco MP-2 or Busman modded DR-680 pre-amps> Darktrain cables & interconnects> Tascam DR-680 (Busman mod)
AT853's(card's/hyper's)>AT8533x>Aerco MP-2>Sony M10

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #88 on: April 13, 2012, 09:56:03 AM »
The external bat connector on my Aerco is unreliable.  The Ratshack connectors don't provide a tight connection for me.  So I've been running the Aerco on alkalines for past couple of years.  That said, I hate buying alkalines and using bat snaps.  Pain in the arse.  I do like the convenience of having 1 less thing in the bag to connect, like an external battery.  So, this mod provides me a "peace of mind."  I can also run in the smallest bag possible.           
« Last Edit: April 13, 2012, 11:37:38 AM by spyder9 »

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (57)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6701
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #89 on: April 13, 2012, 10:00:01 AM »
Thanks for the pics.  Obviously, not a trivial mod for Jerry to add.

I also run on a dvd battery.  I haven't had any noise issues, but the regulators in those batteries do generate noise - some probably more than others.

My external power jack has been fine. I use a bit of gaffer tape to hold the plug in.  I haven't done the v3 rubberband mod, but may be I should...

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.208 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company