Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: powering the v3 question  (Read 6146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline notsofast

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 378
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2010, 04:27:19 PM »
Mystery solved...  I found the way to change the voltage and bumped it to 7.5, no light, just acting the way I would expect.

Thanks Ted,

Tim
"Please post the show - I don't think it sucked, which is my normal rule for show postings" Dave Alvin

Offline SmokinJoe

  • Trade Count: (63)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4188
  • Gender: Male
  • "75 and sunny"... life is so much simpler.
    • uploads to archive.org
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2010, 10:47:24 PM »
how long will that battery power a v3??

I ran about 5 hours yesterday and I've done that quite a few times.  I don't know exactly how long it will go before it dies, I've never actually let it die. I usually decide it's time to swap after 4 or 5 hours.

A V3 uses more juice with the A/D engaged than in analog only mode... and I happen to run in analog only a lot.  Also, some mics eat more phantom power than others.  My Earthworks were really hungry, but with AKG 480s or 414's I can get the 5 hours I mentioned above.
Mics: Gefell M200's & M210's / ADK-TL / AT853's / DPA4061's
Pres: V3 / ST9100
Decks: Oade Concert Mod R4Pro / R09 / R05
Big Rig: split snake > Focusrite & Presonus Pres > ADAT > Alesis HD-24 > Protools 11
Daughter's rig:  AT4050ST > Busman Hybrid R4
Photo: Nikon D700's, 2.8 Zooms, and Zeiss primes
Playback: Raspberry Pi > Modi2 Uber > Magni2 > HD650

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2010, 04:28:55 PM »
When looking on ebay or anywhere else what should I search for as far as the 9volt battery? I am so clueless. My 3 6V eco-charges are failing. I have to do something.
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2010, 04:34:04 PM »
Here is the latest from eco-charge:

http://www.eco-charge.com/systems_ec90.html

Has anyone gotten any of theirs in the last few years?
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #19 on: May 30, 2010, 04:43:37 PM »
Grace Design sells this a system with the Tekkeon mp3450:

http://www.gracedesign.com/merch/merch.htm

Anyone use this? I don't mind spending $200-$300 for a reliable system with a couple of batteries.


AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2010, 05:28:08 PM »
I am leaning towards the Tekkeon mp3450:

http://www.tekkeon.com/products-mypowerall.html

I should be able to use the xlr>V3 cable I have been using with the eco-charges.
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 4528
  • Gender: Male
  • Saint Paul, MN
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2010, 06:27:18 PM »
I am leaning towards the Tekkeon mp3450:

http://www.tekkeon.com/products-mypowerall.html

I should be able to use the xlr>V3 cable I have been using with the eco-charges.

Ted or Ed should be able to make a cable for you.  The mp3450 end of the cable is NOT XLR.  I am now using Tekkeon MP3450's to power my V3's and my FiveFish TS2 pre's and my PMD661.  Great battery that lasts a long long time.  

You can purchase a mp3450's for $110.00 from Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000S9JWJI?tag=itkid1153-20


And let Ed or Ted hack the Tekkeon cable for you to add a locking V3 connector.  The tekkeon cables can be found here for $8 apiece - then let Ted or Ed hack it for you.  I had Ed hack two for me...

http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=18


http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=138
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2010, 07:22:13 PM »
I am leaning towards the Tekkeon mp3450:

http://www.tekkeon.com/products-mypowerall.html

I should be able to use the xlr>V3 cable I have been using with the eco-charges.

Ted or Ed should be able to make a cable for you.  The mp3450 end of the cable is NOT XLR.  I am now using Tekkeon MP3450's to power my V3's and my FiveFish TS2 pre's and my PMD661.  Great battery that lasts a long long time.  

You can purchase a mp3450's for $110.00 from Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000S9JWJI?tag=itkid1153-20


And let Ed or Ted hack the Tekkeon cable for you to add a locking V3 connector.  The tekkeon cables can be found here for $8 apiece - then let Ted or Ed hack it for you.  I had Ed hack two for me...

http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=18


http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=138


Thanks. Do you have 1 or 2? How do you charge it?
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 4528
  • Gender: Male
  • Saint Paul, MN
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #23 on: May 31, 2010, 07:48:37 AM »
I am leaning towards the Tekkeon mp3450:

http://www.tekkeon.com/products-mypowerall.html

I should be able to use the xlr>V3 cable I have been using with the eco-charges.

Ted or Ed should be able to make a cable for you.  The mp3450 end of the cable is NOT XLR.  I am now using Tekkeon MP3450's to power my V3's and my FiveFish TS2 pre's and my PMD661.  Great battery that lasts a long long time.  

You can purchase a mp3450's for $110.00 from Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000S9JWJI?tag=itkid1153-20


And let Ed or Ted hack the Tekkeon cable for you to add a locking V3 connector.  The tekkeon cables can be found here for $8 apiece - then let Ted or Ed hack it for you.  I had Ed hack two for me...

http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=18


http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=138


Thanks. Do you have 1 or 2? How do you charge it?

The ac-plugin wallwart charger comes with the battery purchase.  I have three of the mp3450  batteries and two V3 hacked cables for my two V3's.


Looks like Robb (Darktrain) is making those cables now too:


Tekkeon DC out plug - Where can I find that plug?

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133232.msg1745641#msg1745641



What are the pin assignments for the Tekkeon to v3?

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133408.msg1747846#msg1747846



Powering a V3>Minime>MT2 with Tekkeon 3450..can it be done? 

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133599.msg1749897#msg1749897



multi-meter and Tekkeon to V3 cable 

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133413.msg1747406#msg1747406


hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (57)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #24 on: May 31, 2010, 12:53:30 PM »
I bought my last two wally batteries on ebay for about $10 each..  I can't imagine spending much more than that.  The cables are trivial to make.  I can't recall if those batteries came with the adaptaplug, but I think they might have.

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2010, 11:54:15 AM »
I am leaning towards the Tekkeon mp3450:

http://www.tekkeon.com/products-mypowerall.html

I should be able to use the xlr>V3 cable I have been using with the eco-charges.

Ted or Ed should be able to make a cable for you.  The mp3450 end of the cable is NOT XLR.  I am now using Tekkeon MP3450's to power my V3's and my FiveFish TS2 pre's and my PMD661.  Great battery that lasts a long long time.  

You can purchase a mp3450's for $110.00 from Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000S9JWJI?tag=itkid1153-20


And let Ed or Ted hack the Tekkeon cable for you to add a locking V3 connector.  The tekkeon cables can be found here for $8 apiece - then let Ted or Ed hack it for you.  I had Ed hack two for me...

http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=18


http://www.tekkeon.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=138


The Tekkeon MP3450 has arrived from Grace Designs with their cable. It's smaller and a little lighter than I expected. Dumb question. Do you set it on 6 or 7.5v?. Also, do you think I can rely on it for 8 hours? Trying to figure out if I'll need a 2nd one for Allgood.
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #26 on: June 04, 2010, 12:06:54 PM »
From the manual.....

LOW BATT
For the 6 Volt V3, the low battery indicator flashes if the battery voltage drops below 5.75V. For the 12 Volt V3, the low battery indicator flashes if the battery drops below 11.5V.

For 6V operation use a 7.5V, 1.0A power supply. For 12V operation use a 12V, 1.0A power supply.

Did you set the tekkeon at 7.5v or 6v?  6v may only be suppling the 5.75v mark that kicks in the "low Batt" light.  The same thing may be going on with your 6v SLAs.

Aha. This answered my question. I may have to tape Phish next week to test it out.
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #27 on: June 04, 2010, 11:54:53 PM »
Okay, I just tested out the Tekkeon and it is amazing. First of all, here was my informal test on the weight:

253.5 - Me on the scale in clothes
255.0 - Me holding the Tekkeon
258.0 - Me holding one of the eco-charges

My scale rounds to the 1/2 pound, but it still gives a rough idea that it weights around a 1/3 of what the eco-charge weighs.

You use the same button to change the voltage while it's on and check how full it is when it's off. The usb out is HUGE for me. I tested it both with the MT2496 and my iPhone. I am now going to tape Phish next Friday to test it out and also test out the firmware update I did on the MT2496. I'll give an update on what % of it is used powering both for a full show.
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 4528
  • Gender: Male
  • Saint Paul, MN
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #28 on: June 06, 2010, 10:13:48 AM »
Great price on the Tekkeon MP3450:

Tekkeon MP3450's New $75 Free Ship 

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=136017.0

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330440200661


Seller has 6 of them!
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 4528
  • Gender: Male
  • Saint Paul, MN
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #29 on: June 06, 2010, 01:42:00 PM »
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.251 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company