Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam DR100MKii and SD MIX PRE D  (Read 10658 times)

Offline matjinks

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Tascam DR100MKii and SD MIX PRE D
« on: January 24, 2012, 09:24:16 PM »
Hi Tapers, I am a newbie with a couple of questions. I have a Tascam DR100MKii in the mail, that I would like to use with a prospective Sound Devices Mix Pre D. I want to use the Tascam as a Bitbucket, my question is, will it lock with the SD through its AES XLR? I have a Canare BCJ-XJ-TRB IMPEDANCE TRANSFORMER, and I am planning to solder in a 18db attenuator to bring down the voltage to .5v for the SPDIF input to be happy :) will this work?
will they be happy and communicate nicely, does anyone have real experience with these two units playing nice though digital?
My plans are to travel with a Canon 5D MKii the Tascam and the SD Mix Pre D with a Senn MKH416 (which I already own), shooting a documentary.
I think the system will work out great as I can use the Tascam for handheld interviews then mount it onto the side of the tripod with the Mix Pre and 5D mounted on top to shoot the video.

Many Thanks,

Mathew.

Offline dogmusic

• Taperssection Member
Re: Tascam DR100MKii and SD MIX PRE D
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2012, 10:40:35 PM »
I have tested the Tascam DR100mkii with an SD USBPre 2 through the SPDIF coax out, and they play nice. As to your set-up using AES XLR out, perhaps someone else has some experience with this.
"The ear is much more than a mere appendage on the side of the head." - Catherine Parker Anthony, Structure and Function of the Human Body (1972)

"That's metaphysically absurd, man! How can I know what you hear?" - Firesign Theatre

stevetoney

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 10:23:14 AM »
If you check out the spec sheet for the DR100MKII closely, you'll see that the digital input is spec'ed to the SPDIF standard only.  That said, please check out the review I wrote on the DR100MKII here...