Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: I've been gone so long i'm a newb again, rebuilding my rig questions.  (Read 8056 times)

Offline drkstar10

• Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection Regular
Hello all,

I've decided 2015 would be a great year to take my midlife crisis. I spent the last fifteen years with my nose to the grindstone and have reached the point I can sell my company, semi retire and have some fun again. I was going to get a Corvette, a couple of strippers and some blow, but thought it would be fun get back into taping shows again instead. My wife wholeheartedly agreed with choice number two.

I haven't taped a show in quite a while(2001) and I want to upgrade my setup to four microphones. I was thinking of running a pair of shotguns and a pair of cards and recording to a four track recorder to be mixed at home.

I still have all my old stuff. KM-184>v2>ad2k+>da-P1. The Tascam is a paperweight these days it seems. I liked the sound of the Neumanns and was thinking of getting Nak cm-300/cp4 mics to add to them.

So much new equipment has come out (and been discontinued) i am having trouble trying to figure out the best way to set up the rig. I was thinking of just picking up a used v2 and a 744. I have read some pretty good reviews of the 744's a/d on here.

Is anybody making 4 channel pre's or a/d converters. I need something I can carry around myself fairly easily and want to keep the weight down.

If I use an outboard pre>a/d it seems like the 744 is overkill and all I need is a "bit bucket"

my budget is pretty good (15k) ( I was contemplating tlm-170r's)

Anybody have thoughts on?

Shotguns (better choice than the Naks, I would prefer phanthom power over batteries)
Other mics to pair with the shotguns (tlm-170 vs the km-184)
A nice manageable 4 channel pre>a/d>recorder

Thanks,

Mark

Mic's.    U89i, CM300 (Frankenaks),MK4, mk41, mk4v>kcy>PFA,
Pre's and A/D.    V2, rmod2k1, Aerco mp-2, ad2k+