Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Devices 722 Not Connecting to Computer via Firewire  (Read 7732 times)

DF81

• Trade Count: (0)
Sound Devices 722 Not Connecting to Computer via Firewire
« on: January 24, 2015, 02:28:37 PM »
There is possibly a thread about this already, but a search turned up zero results.

I've been using a 722 for a couple months and have not had any issues transferring files via firewire to Mac.  However, today I tried it and it's not working at all.

Any possible solutions or does this need service?

Thanks

Offline H₂O

• Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Sound Devices 722 Not Connecting to Computer via Firewire
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2015, 02:57:40 PM »
Firewire ports are very sensitive to hot plugging and can burn out sometimes when doing this - I have had this happen on numerous external devices over the years

You have to completely unmount the device and make sure the computer still doesn't see it before unplugging - even if you have to power down the computer (worst case)

I would try a different computer or FireWire port (even if at a friends place) to make sure it's the 722 but I would bet the port on the 722 has gone south

FireWire was a great concept but problems like this one make me happy usb came out on top - I have no experience with thunderbolt so I cannot comment
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline voltronic

• Trade Count: (40)
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2015, 04:16:01 PM »
For my FireWire Focusrite interface, the manual actually specifies that the computer must be fully powered down when plugging / unplugging.  I'm not sure if they're being overly cautious or it really is that sensitive, but I don't want to make it angry so I do what I'm told. :-\
I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.
- Gustav Mahler

Acoustic Recording Techniques
Team Classical
Team Line Audio
Team DPA