Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Firewire Capture and Windows 10  (Read 3297 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xjsb125

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • An Our Lady Peace Fan Forum
Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« on: July 16, 2016, 08:10:31 PM »
I recently unearthed some miniDV tapes that I wanted to get transferred and edited. They were originally recorded on a Panasonic PV GS500, which was sadly stolen a few years ago. I still have a Canon HV30, and my desktop is old enough that I still have a firewire port on it. Since upgrading to Windows 10, I hadn't used a firewire connection for anything. I fired up Vegas 13 Pro and attempted to capture one of my tapes, and I keep getting an error that Sony Capture can't connect to my device. No problem, I'll just fire up VirtualDub. Same issue. Premiere Pro. Same issue. NeoScene. Same issue. I tried installing an alternate driver for my firewire port. Still no luck. In research I haven't had any luck finding a solution that works. Has anyone else had a similar issue?
"I'm the one who's gonna have to die when it's time for me to die. So let me live my life, the way I want to."

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2378
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2016, 09:15:37 PM »
First guess is that W10 didn't install a FW driver when you upgraded.  I would check on your motherboard manufacturer's site for W10 drivers.  There's unlikely to be a separate one for FW, but are likely packages in the chipset driver package.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2016, 08:06:47 AM by voltronic »
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q
Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24
Tascam DR-70D JWMod | Sony PCM-M10

Tascam DR-70D FAQ
Team Line Audio
Quote
I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.    ///    If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music.
- Gustav Mahler

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1428
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2016, 10:55:58 PM »
This reminds me how much i always hated firewire and mini dv.

Not that this will help your problem but i had a similar issue years ago and the only thing that solved my problem was JMICRON firewire driver.

Good luck.

Offline nassau73

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2016, 11:56:12 AM »

Offline stantheman1976

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1093
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2016, 01:51:43 PM »
Try WinDV. It's a simple DV capture program for SD video. I never captured with Vegas even though I edit with it.

Offline xjsb125

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • An Our Lady Peace Fan Forum
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2016, 08:57:57 PM »
Does this help?

https://www.studio1productions.com/Articles/Firewire-1.htm

Still no luck after that. I'm wondering if it's not with the port itself, and not a software issue. I'll keep entertaining suggestions, and I really appreciate you guys giving out your ideas. Thanks!
"I'm the one who's gonna have to die when it's time for me to die. So let me live my life, the way I want to."

Offline dyneq

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 299
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2016, 09:10:15 PM »
What does it show in Device Mangler? Is the device there? Does the icon have a warning or error icon?

Also, maybe poke around in the BIOS to make sure that it's enabled?

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2378
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2016, 10:36:36 PM »
What does it show in Device Mangler?

:clapping:

I can't believe I never heard this one before back in my computer repair tech days.
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q
Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24
Tascam DR-70D JWMod | Sony PCM-M10

Tascam DR-70D FAQ
Team Line Audio
Quote
I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.    ///    If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music.
- Gustav Mahler

Offline xjsb125

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • An Our Lady Peace Fan Forum
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2016, 12:13:11 AM »
In the device manager, the 1394 controller shows the legacy driver installed. The warning exclamation is not present. That's actually one of the first things I looked for, to see if there was a problem or device conflict. The camera itself, when connected and turned on, shows up in the device manager as well, under the sound, video, and game controllers controllers.
"I'm the one who's gonna have to die when it's time for me to die. So let me live my life, the way I want to."

Offline dyneq

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 299
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2016, 09:29:46 AM »
Did you run Microsoft's 'Windows 10 upgrade advisor' thingie (or whatever it was called) before the upgrade? I ran it, and it provided a list of devices that would work or not work.

Agree with the previous comment to go to the motherboard manufacturer's driver site and see if you can find their win10-specific driver (it's not clear which drivers you've tried). What is the manufacturer and model firewire chip? I have also, in a few cases, been able to locate drivers directly from those companies.


Offline xjsb125

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • An Our Lady Peace Fan Forum
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2016, 09:48:02 AM »
Last night about an hour after I posted, I restarted my desktop, and the damn thing finally connected. Thank you all very much for your help!
"I'm the one who's gonna have to die when it's time for me to die. So let me live my life, the way I want to."

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2750
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2016, 09:19:14 PM »
Had you restarted previously during the time you were trying to get the firewire to work?
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards) & AT853 cards
Pre: CA-9100
Deck: Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4k), Sony DSC HX50V
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline xjsb125

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • An Our Lady Peace Fan Forum
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2016, 06:54:07 AM »
To quote my wife "If you restart that damn thing one more time, I'll throw it out in the yard."
"I'm the one who's gonna have to die when it's time for me to die. So let me live my life, the way I want to."

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1599
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2016, 06:06:04 PM »
Of course you know already not to disconnect the FW while the power is on or you may be throwing the card or the camera in the yard after the port gets fried.   

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2378
  • Gender: Male
Re: Firewire Capture and Windows 10
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2016, 06:30:47 PM »
Of course you know already not to disconnect the FW while the power is on or you may be throwing the card or the camera in the yard after the port gets fried.

This.  FW does not like hot-plugging, which is easy to forget after using USB devices so often.
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q
Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24
Tascam DR-70D JWMod | Sony PCM-M10

Tascam DR-70D FAQ
Team Line Audio
Quote
I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.    ///    If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music.
- Gustav Mahler

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.215 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company