Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: V3 battery  (Read 6126 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jb63

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Gender: Male
  • if not now when?
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2016, 03:02:08 PM »
Well I failed at this. I'll post pictures, but either I had a faulty wire or the wrong battery but after finishing I could get no power. The V3 still works, so I didn't fry anything. Love that giant heavy V3!
this is definitely not normal

Offline jb63

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Gender: Male
  • if not now when?
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2017, 01:28:01 PM »
Have a look here. What have I done wrong, potentially, that makes this not work? Is it possible that my cable has just gone bad? Here's the battery and the soldered connection, but I get no power to the V3.
this is definitely not normal

Offline dnsacks

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1643
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #17 on: January 25, 2017, 04:25:12 PM »
probably stupid questions, but have you used a voltmeter to a) confirm the battery is providing power and b) confirm that the sled is receiving power from the battery (You could tap the soldier joints with the voltmeter probes).  If so, confirm that the cable connector (that plugs into the V3) is getting power and that polarity is not reversed. 

Offline fsulloway

  • Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1679
  • Gender: Male
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #18 on: January 26, 2017, 08:56:11 PM »
From the best I can tell it's wired up correctly assuming the blk wire with white stripe is in fact the positive. Here's another vote for using a volt meter. You'd have your answer in a minute.
schoeps ccm4's
AKG ck62, ck63, ck61
Nbob/pfa, Naiant/pfa
CAFS, CA Ugly
oade m148, V3
DR680, M10

"Wilmington, North Carolina....Let us hear your motherf***in' pride!" Patterson Hood 12-09-04

"Just About Unwound From Chasing Down The Sound"

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5430
  • Gender: Male
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2017, 09:36:31 PM »
Another stupid question - Is the V3 a 6v or 12v and have you verified it is set to 6v?

If the V3 has been set to operate at 12v it will not turn on if the voltage is less then about 10v or so (maybe in the 9.5v range) - there is a procedure on how to change the voltage setting (used to be posted on the Grace website)

Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline fsulloway

  • Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1679
  • Gender: Male
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #20 on: January 27, 2017, 12:57:02 PM »
Duh. didn't think of that Richard. Yep, so look at your old dvd battery and see what voltage it's set on. If it's set on 12v then these are the instructions to change it.

http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v3_voltage_calibration.pdf
schoeps ccm4's
AKG ck62, ck63, ck61
Nbob/pfa, Naiant/pfa
CAFS, CA Ugly
oade m148, V3
DR680, M10

"Wilmington, North Carolina....Let us hear your motherf***in' pride!" Patterson Hood 12-09-04

"Just About Unwound From Chasing Down The Sound"

Offline jb63

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Gender: Male
  • if not now when?
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #21 on: January 27, 2017, 06:14:32 PM »
I love this place!
I have 2 DVD batteries and regularly swap them between the V3 and R44, so I guess I'd better learn some more stuff!
This as my attempt at trying something new... guess I learned the old fashioned way! At least I have not yet fried my V3!
this is definitely not normal

Offline MULETAPER

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 844
  • Gender: Male
  • ~Find Love Thru Music and Share It~
    • Global Moderator
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #22 on: July 11, 2017, 02:02:06 PM »
can someone tell me what voltage they run on the Natchez? mines a 6v V3
Beyerdynamic MC930's>Neumann KM184s>Tascam DR-680

Offline Hypnocracy

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (45)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1958
  • Hypnocratic Missionary
    • Hypno on teh LMA
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #23 on: July 11, 2017, 03:09:36 PM »
I know nothing about Natchez units, but, always ran my 6v V2 with 7.2v Tekkeons so as not too stare at the low voltage light that would stay on when I had the Tekkeon at 6v...
_____________
hypno on teh Archive

This must be heaven -- 'cause here's where the rainbow ends
If this ain't the real thing, then it's close enough to pretend

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (141)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4042
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #24 on: July 11, 2017, 04:12:57 PM »
9V will work!

can someone tell me what voltage they run on the Natchez? mines a 6v V3
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60V)> Sound Devices Mixpre-6

Offline mccordo

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 396
  • Gender: Male
  • Area Man
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #25 on: July 11, 2017, 09:26:15 PM »
can someone tell me what voltage they run on the Natchez? mines a 6v V3

I have a 6v V2 that I've run off of 9v Anker and DVD batteries for the last 3 years with no issues.
Mics: AKG ck63 Hypercards nBob Actives (460B bodies unused), Rode NT6/MJE-384K Roadster (Michael Joly modded Cards), Audix M1280 Hypercards, Audix M1290 Cards, AT853 Cards, Church Audio CA-11 Cards, AT MT830R Omnis
Pres: Grace Design Lunatec V2, Edirol UA-5, Church Audio CA-9200, Naiant PIPsqueak
Recorders: SoundDevices MixPre-6, SoundDevices MixPre-3, Tascam DR-100mkII, Sony PCM-M10

Offline taperjeff

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 249
  • Gender: Male
    • LMA recordings:
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #26 on: July 13, 2017, 05:32:14 PM »
can someone tell me what voltage they run on the Natchez? mines a 6v V3

I have a 6v V2 that I've run off of 9v Anker and DVD batteries for the last 3 years with no issues.

Is this the Anker battery you use? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00935L44E/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=I3BEGVST7CUOVR&colid=MG7E9XCBJ0BY

Offline mccordo

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 396
  • Gender: Male
  • Area Man
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #27 on: July 13, 2017, 06:02:08 PM »
can someone tell me what voltage they run on the Natchez? mines a 6v V3

I have a 6v V2 that I've run off of 9v Anker and DVD batteries for the last 3 years with no issues.

Is this the Anker battery you use? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00935L44E/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=I3BEGVST7CUOVR&colid=MG7E9XCBJ0BY

I use a Anker 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh, but I just checked and it looks like it is no longer available. I bought it about 2 years ago, but I'm sure Anker has released an updated version since then.
Mics: AKG ck63 Hypercards nBob Actives (460B bodies unused), Rode NT6/MJE-384K Roadster (Michael Joly modded Cards), Audix M1280 Hypercards, Audix M1290 Cards, AT853 Cards, Church Audio CA-11 Cards, AT MT830R Omnis
Pres: Grace Design Lunatec V2, Edirol UA-5, Church Audio CA-9200, Naiant PIPsqueak
Recorders: SoundDevices MixPre-6, SoundDevices MixPre-3, Tascam DR-100mkII, Sony PCM-M10

Offline Rob D.

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2559
  • Gender: Male
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #28 on: May 07, 2018, 07:05:59 PM »
Duh. didn't think of that Richard. Yep, so look at your old dvd battery and see what voltage it's set on. If it's set on 12v then these are the instructions to change it.

http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v3_voltage_calibration.pdf

Count me in as another Naztech BP15000 user that can't get more than three hours from it after not even two years  >:(

I recently bought the PowerOark 50000mAh that feeds 12v and 20v. I used to feed 9v to my V3 from the Naztech but will switching the jumpers on the V3 to 12v be necessary?

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4578
    • The Breakfast
Re: V3 battery
« Reply #29 on: May 08, 2018, 07:55:18 AM »
Duh. didn't think of that Richard. Yep, so look at your old dvd battery and see what voltage it's set on. If it's set on 12v then these are the instructions to change it.

http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v3_voltage_calibration.pdf

Count me in as another Naztech BP15000 user that can't get more than three hours from it after not even two years  >:(

I recently bought the PowerOark 50000mAh that feeds 12v and 20v. I used to feed 9v to my V3 from the Naztech but will switching the jumpers on the V3 to 12v be necessary?

if mem serves correctly it has more to do with when the low batt light kicks on etc
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.207 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF