Gear / Technical Help > Microphones & Setup

Audio-Technica AT2022 X/Y stereo microphone

(1/2) > >>

gihl:
I am new to audio recording.  ::)
Recently. I sold the Tascam DR-100MKIII recorder and I am interested in Audio-Technica AT2022 X/Y stereo microphone.
Is this AT2022 microphone obviously better than the DR-100MKIII's directional stereo microphone?

I usually record the sounds of towns and cities.
It's a very basic question, but I seek your advice.  :)
Thank you for reading.

p.s. Is it useless to record these sounds using a mono microphone like AT4022?

billydee:
Hi there.
I have no idea what the DR-100MKIII internal mics sound like but, I recently purchased a slightly used AT2022 from a friend on here and am happy with results from the few times I've used it.

Two of the three times I used it as part of a matrix with a soundboard, and I did use it standalone/wide open at a recent outdoor blues festival and they sound pretty good.
The mic can be set at an either 90 or 120 degree pattern, I've only used them in the 90 degree pattern.

That's about all I can mention, for now, hope it helps.

Gutbucket:

--- Quote ---I usually record the sounds of towns and cities.
Is it useless to record these sounds using a mono microphone like AT4022?
--- End quote ---

It's a stereo microphone with left and right outputs.  As a coincident stereo arrangement (left and right mic capsules located in the same point in space) it's compact and convenient, yet the resulting recording will sound more focused and somewhat less "open, airy and 3-dimensional" than a microphone arrangement with some space between the capsules.  For general ambience recording, the more open 120 degree setting will usually be most appropriate.  If your recording is intended to focus on one particular sound or source within a sound environment rather than convey a general sense of "you are there" in that environment, then the more monophonic-leaning 90 degree setting may be appropriate.