Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: soundcard problems  (Read 2168 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (89)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
soundcard problems
« on: November 06, 2002, 05:02:33 PM »
seeing other posts about soundcards makes me think, I just started in on my soundcard and transferring dats to my HD, so I transferred the wp 10-31-02 was going to track it out and it was super slow draggy, if i used the ff while playing i could kinda recognoze it as music. So can anyone help here. I am using the m-audio 24/96 card and cool edit to transfer and cd wav to cut (didn t even get that far) on a machine with win xp pro, i know sucks, better than the Me I had tho.
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline JeffK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • Gender: Male
  • ...just a little split off center than the most
    • umphreaks!
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2002, 05:49:02 PM »
The Dio 24/96 card?  or another one?

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (89)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2002, 05:52:03 PM »
di-o
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline JeffK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • Gender: Male
  • ...just a little split off center than the most
    • umphreaks!
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2002, 05:53:41 PM »
Try changing your playback device in the program you're playing in.  It may be set to "microsoft soundmapper" or something that the program doesn't like.

Did the DAT record properly to the hard drive?


Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (89)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2002, 05:56:18 PM »
now how do i do that? i was able to listen to it once and it sounded fine, came back the next day to do the tracking and then this happened
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline JeffK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • Gender: Male
  • ...just a little split off center than the most
    • umphreaks!
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2002, 06:04:07 PM »
hrm, in XP (I don't use XP so I'm not 100% sure on this) go into the control panel and there should be a "sound and multimedia" icon.  double click on that, then try selecting differend playback devices.

I don't have that card either, but there may be a "control panel" type software specifically for that card.  Anyone have that card that could help shed some light?  I know Ed does... speak up!

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2002, 06:38:04 PM »
Its a simple answer.  You are asking the card to resample for you (I've got the same card)  That card doesnt resample on the fly.  In the MAudio pannel make sure you have the same bitrate as on your date sellected (48 or 44 or whatever) and do the downsample later.

Jonny

PS- this happens to me all  the time when I forget.

Offline d swing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
  • Gender: Male
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2002, 07:06:03 PM »
I think jonny nailed it.  Make sure you're recording (to the harddisk) at the sampling rate the DAT was recorded at.

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2002, 07:10:02 PM »
Woo hoo!  I might have gotten something right for once!  Maybe I'm not all booksmarts!  :-P

Offline JeffK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • Gender: Male
  • ...just a little split off center than the most
    • umphreaks!
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2002, 09:56:56 PM »
That sounds like the problem, check the control panel for the card :)

FWIW... samplitude allows you to resample on the fly while recording to your hard drive.  I use it all the time for this with great results.

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (89)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2002, 10:08:47 PM »
actually thats not it, recorded at 48, put on HD at 48 copnverted to 44.1 later
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline CrazyED

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 669
  • Gender: Male
  • w00ks.org
    • My Photos
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2002, 12:37:26 PM »
I highly recommend samplitude.  I use that for recording in with the Di0 2496, works like a charm.  The software allows you to resample on the fly.
Gear: Canon 350D, Canon 430EX, Canon 10-22mm/3.5, Canon 50mm/1.8, Canon 24-70mm/2.8, Canon 70-200mm/2.8 IS

Offline Roose

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 167
  • Gender: Male
  • come on and bounce baby bounce
    • My Cd List
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2002, 11:45:36 PM »
I run Windows ME on a 1Ghz 256MB ram computer with the MidimandAudiophile 2496 and into Samplitude Studio 5.

I haven't had any problems with it, just have to make sure all the settings are right before I record.

See what your buffers are set at.
Behave like your Mother is watching.

Offline d swing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
  • Gender: Male
Re:soundcard problems
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2002, 01:38:35 AM »
Windows ME...this is the first i've heard of someone actaully using it successfully.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.188 seconds with 36 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company