Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: I think I messed up this battery pack :-(  (Read 2236 times)

Offline laptaper

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
I think I messed up this battery pack :-(
« on: July 17, 2007, 09:45:30 PM »
Being a noob, I think I've mismatched this battery pack from cheapbatterypacks.com and my HD-P2's power needs.

The AC adaptor for the HD-P2 delivers 12v (positive) and 2.5 amps.

The battery pack, which I ordered custom from cheapbatterypacks.com, is a 2x3 stick of 10 1.2v 4500mah SC cells, for a total of 12 volts.  A 12AWG wire (capable of handling up to 100 amps, at least that's what I gather from cheapbatterypacks's custom pack page) leads from the battery pack to a female Deans plug, connecting to a male Deans plug soldered to another 12AWG wire, which in turn is soldered to a connector that goes into the HD-P2.  I haven't charged the pack yet, much less used it, because now I'm not sure if this is the pack I need.

So - since the batteries are 4500 mah but the HD-P2 is presumably built for 2.5 amps, does this mean if I use the battery pack it'll fry my recorder?  :o  Also, since there are ten 4500 mah batteries in the pack, does that mean the pack as a whole is 45 amps?

I'd email Mike at cheapbatterypacks about this, but he and I seemed to be talking past each other when I was first ordering the pack (even though I explained to him that this was something I have zero knowledge about).  For one thing, he recommended using 20AWG wire (rated for 25 amps and less) while the guy at the hobby shop who sold me my recharger and did the connector soldering for me recommended the 12 AWG.  Am I in trouble with this pack, or am I okay?  I feel totally lost.  ???

Thanks in advance,

Bill
« Last Edit: July 17, 2007, 10:01:46 PM by laptaper »

Offline F.O.Bean

• Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings