Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: M - Audio micro track - How do i set it up 101  (Read 3141 times)

Offline Jon Oskar

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
M - Audio micro track - How do i set it up 101
« on: October 20, 2005, 07:04:10 PM »
Hi everyone,

Im new to sound, and definitely new to pro sound, after only a short read of some of the threads hear, my head is smoking.  The lingo and tech words are like chinese to me.  Although im new, im very determent and dedicated in getting good sound, so after some grate advice from some friendly people on some of these forums i finally have invested in some equipment, amongst it is the Micro-Track.
I am also using the Shure fp24, countryman B6 and the 416.

Now i am wondering if someone that has hands on experience could talk me through this as although i have read "Grate sound for digital video" and close to 100 threads, i feel a little stuck and unsure how to proceed.

How should i set up the micro-track in relation to the above mentioned equipment?
What are the mane issues and bugs to be aware of?
(Stupid Question) - if plugging in to the M audio ore the mixer do i have to worry about phantom power frying my mic?

If this has bin covered in newbie language in some other thread, could you please send me the link, and excuse this thread.

Thank you

Jon

« Last Edit: October 20, 2005, 08:44:44 PM by Jon Oskar »

Offline plucks

• 1pt21Gigawatts!
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Maybe the grass is greener on the other side
    • 1pt21gw.blogspot.com
Re: M - Audio micro track How do i set it up 101
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 07:08:31 PM »
you will want the phantom power on if your mics need it.
Also, the level meters do suck on the MT...so since you dont have another level meter device, just make sure you are not running the levels so the red lights (peak meters) are constantly on.  If they are flashing red here & there you should be golden.