Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: AKG c535 EB - best all around mic?  (Read 4454 times)

Offline vibralux

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
AKG c535 EB - best all around mic?
« on: May 18, 2009, 06:58:56 AM »
Hi guys

I will be recording some fx, noises,music and dialogue with my new MArantz PMD 661 (supermod)– I already decided on Church mic's for stealth but I need one more mic „for everything”. Now I know there is no such a thing as I am a experienced studio engineer, but I know there is always a good mic for „many things” like my trusty KSM 44. So I am looking for a most flexible, preferably handheld mic. On Oade Brothers site they mention the AKG C535 EB as a good bet – is that what I need? Or do You guys have any other secret weapon in this range? I dont want to spend more than 300$

Would appreciate any help on this one
Cheers
Marty

Offline SmokinJoe

• Trade Count: (63)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "75 and sunny"... life is so much simpler.
    • uploads to archive.org
Re: AKG c535 EB - best all around mic?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 07:26:39 AM »
They might be good... I've never heard of anyone using them.

I think maybe you are asking the wrong audience.  Most of us on this forum are into concert taping from a relative distance (even stage lip is a distance compared to a handheld vocal mic), although there are some studio and production engineers here who might be familiar.
Mics: Schoeps MK4 & CMC5's / Gefell M200's & M210's / ADK-TL / DPA4061's
Pres: V3 / ST9100
Decks: Oade Concert Mod R4Pro / R09 / R05
Photo: Nikon D700's, 2.8 Zooms, and Zeiss primes
Playback: Raspberry Pi > Modi2 Uber > Magni2 > HD650

Offline DSatz

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: AKG c535 EB - best all around mic?
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2009, 08:06:44 AM »