Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New Recorder Owner Here.  (Read 4091 times)

Offline Monkey

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
New Recorder Owner Here.
« on: May 12, 2010, 02:55:33 PM »
Hi All, I hope that this is the correct place to ask a couple of questions of from what I have been reading on these
forums you seem to be the collective font of all knowledge. :-)
I have just bought a Edirol R-09HR recorder to do some stealth recording, I have in the past and still do download shows
from Dime, Traders Den etc and I want to hopefully give something back myself.
I managed to get a good deal from someone who used to record their band practices so he said but no longer needed the Edirol
so I have got it now.
I have read some of the threads on the 09 but its overwhelming I must say guys. :-)
I am a total newbie when it comes to all things recording and I was pointed to this taping heaven on the net.
What I would like to ask I hope doesn't sound too stupid to you all.
Firstly after going on the the Roland/Edirol site and also after installing the "Cakewalk" I was asked to registrar the stuff, I e-mailed
the guy about it and he said he thought the code/s was on the side of the box, well can any one please tell me what the code/numbers
would start with as there quite a few above and below the bar codes.
I also asked in my mail what firmware it was running and if he had  upgraded himself, he said no when I switch the recorder on its says
ver 1.4 is this the firmware and do you think I need to upgrade or stay with what I have until I am used to the recorder.
Lastly for now I am seeing Clapton/Winwood at Bercy in Paris in 2 weeks and was wondering what levels I should put on the recorder,
as Bercy is quite large would around 40 be high enough or should I need higher, what do you tapers recommend please and does anyone
have any sort of graph saying what levels work best with different types of show ie:Rock, Folk etc.