Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam DR-05: Possible to cut-into recording at any point?  (Read 10125 times)

Offline Modulo3

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Tascam DR-05: Possible to cut-into recording at any point?
« on: September 19, 2016, 11:56:43 AM »
Hello.

I've got a new Tascam DR-05 recorder. Since I'm new to recording it's possible I missed something about this in the manual. But I re-checked and still can't find a way to cut into a recording during playback. What I'm trying to do is simple to accomplish with an analog tape recorder: press the play button to review your recording; at any given point stop the playback; hit record to make a voice note (or whatever sounds you want), overwriting that length of the tape; then resume playback of the original recording.
I know this simple operation would require the PCM file on the DR-05 be split, a new recording spliced in at a point, erase the original recording starting at the cut-in time for as long as the new file lasts, then join the beginning of the original recording with the new recording, in turn getting joined with the end of the original. This might take up some resources but surely isn't impossible. Can I do it on-board the recorder without resorting to Audacity? If the DR-05 can't do this (behave like a regular tape recorder), then are there portable digital recorders that can?

Offline Sonus Captor

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Tascam DR-05: Possible to cut-into recording at any point?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2016, 11:55:53 AM »
Hi Modulo3,

I don't know of any recorder with this function.

Offline thunderbolt

• Trade Count: (37)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Music est vita!
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2016, 01:34:55 PM »
You'd have to do this in a DAW.  No overdub on this shaver.

Offline dogmusic

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2016, 02:58:24 PM »
You'd have to do this in a DAW.  No overdub on this shaver.