Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Amateur Live Concert Recording Setup --- Suggestions  (Read 3266 times)

Offline Ming-Tzu

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Amateur Live Concert Recording Setup --- Suggestions
« on: September 06, 2016, 02:14:07 PM »
Been reading these forums for a bit and floored by the breadth of knowledge on here!!!

Let me first say that I am an audio amateur, as video/audio is not really my primary focus.  I am a photographer at heart, with some interest in recording live concerts (e.g. hip-hop shows) for archival purposes.  Whenever the mood strikes me with regards to recording video/audio at shows, here's what I bring:

- Panny TM-900
- Zoom H2N
- Tripod

What I typically do is connect the Line Out of the Zoom to the Panny via the Mic jack.  Then, I set it all up on a tripod.  Extremely simple setup for my needs and I don't have to fiddle too much.  I simply adjust the mic levels accordingly, and hit Record when it's time for the show.  Set-it-and-forget-it.  Not looking to get professional recordings, more videos for Youtube and/or personal archives.  Here's my Youtube page: https://www.youtube.com/grandgood

As mentioned, I don't bring out the video rig that often as I focus more on pictures.  However, I've caught the GAS bug and was wondering how I could reasonably upgrade my current system.  Here are some considerations:

- I never have access to the boards
- I would like to keep my setup simple, as I am almost always alone at these shows, and don't want to haul around too much photo and video gear.
- Tripod setup should be a set-it-and-forget-it type deal