Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?  (Read 2061 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline §†∑∫åµÞ≥¥

  • You can call me Steve.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Gender: Male
WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« on: May 11, 2005, 01:01:43 PM »
I'm thinking about an upgrade mod for my UA-5 to run with my AT933/853's and am wondering if the + is worth the extra $?

Thanks........
"Absurdity is the only reality." - FZ

LMA recordings
www.capnutra.com

Offline alienbobz

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1149
  • Gender: Male
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2005, 01:18:26 PM »
All the + does is upgrade some of the equipment in the back. I would fix this if you are doing matrixes and/or running a sbd directly into the ua5 without the mics. If it is worth the ~$150, I would go for it.
-Out of the game for a bit, probably forever-

Audio Setup:
Apogee Mini-MP
Zoom H6

Video Setup:
Canon Vixia HF G20
Rode NTG-2
Azden SGM-1X

Misc:
Behringer C-2s, Marshall MXL 1006BPs, Naiant MSH-1s

Offline nic

  • Big In Japan
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4704
  • Gender: Male
    • half dead batteries
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2005, 01:33:22 PM »
All the + does is upgrade some of the equipment in the back. I would fix this if you are doing matrixes and/or running a sbd directly into the ua5 without the mics. If it is worth the ~$150, I would go for it.

the "+" involves a rebuild of the power supply for cleaner signals as well as other analog side parts.
not sure of details, but its more than just "upgrade some of the equipment in the back"


the water's clean and innocent

Offline krebsy

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 552
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2005, 01:39:31 PM »
From their site...

We also offer a PLUS MOD that can be applied to any of the three analog input MODs. This further reduces noise and distortions in the UA5 by improving the DC supplies, phantom power and RCA inputs.

So yeah, it goes beyond just the RCA inputs. I've never comped a + and non + unit though. I do know that going from digimod to T-mod + had a huge reduction in noise from the box.
"Two wrongs don't make a right. Three rights make a left."

Offline alienbobz

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1149
  • Gender: Male
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2005, 01:43:51 PM »
I guess it is. Sorry for my dumbass comment  ;D.
-Out of the game for a bit, probably forever-

Audio Setup:
Apogee Mini-MP
Zoom H6

Video Setup:
Canon Vixia HF G20
Rode NTG-2
Azden SGM-1X

Misc:
Behringer C-2s, Marshall MXL 1006BPs, Naiant MSH-1s

Offline BJ

  • been around the world and found that only stupid people are breeding the cretins cloning and feeding
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2940
  • Gender: Male
  • They're baaack! ??
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2005, 11:38:50 PM »
this is a direct quote from Doug in our emails.  The + mod helps reduce the noise from the recordings from what I could tell.

Quote
The difference is not subtle and makes for a cleaner clearer
recording that is on equal footing with A/Ds that cost twice as much or
more.
What we have the in way of samples are here :
http://www.oade.com/Tapers_Section/rig_list.html
Auditory
Intake  waves -> 0/1's -> waves
it's magic 

Offline §†∑∫åµÞ≥¥

  • You can call me Steve.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Gender: Male
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2005, 01:39:15 PM »
+T's all around guys... thanks for the input! When I make the move... it'll be WMOD+. It's only $400. Not bad at all....
"Absurdity is the only reality." - FZ

LMA recordings
www.capnutra.com

Offline neumannkid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1555
  • Gender: Male
    • Shows Ive taped on the archive
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2005, 01:53:55 PM »
+T's all around guys... thanks for the input! When I make the move... it'll be WMOD+. It's only $400. Not bad at all....
400 to upgrade from the digi-mod to the W+ mod? does that include shipping?

Offline §†∑∫åµÞ≥¥

  • You can call me Steve.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Gender: Male
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2005, 02:04:03 PM »
+T's all around guys... thanks for the input! When I make the move... it'll be WMOD+. It's only $400. Not bad at all....
400 to upgrade from the digi-mod to the W+ mod? does that include shipping?

extra $20 for insured shipping. not sure if I should've posted the prices.... :-\
"Absurdity is the only reality." - FZ

LMA recordings
www.capnutra.com

Offline neumannkid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1555
  • Gender: Male
    • Shows Ive taped on the archive
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2005, 02:08:01 PM »
I dont thinking posting prices is that big a deal. I dont think your getting any kind of discount.

Offline §†∑∫åµÞ≥¥

  • You can call me Steve.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Gender: Male
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2005, 02:13:21 PM »
I dont thinking posting prices is that big a deal. I dont think your getting any kind of discount.

I don't think it's a discount either, (if anything it's a little more expensive than if it were done initially) but considering I got the UA-5 used for about $200 I can't complain. :D
"Absurdity is the only reality." - FZ

LMA recordings
www.capnutra.com

Offline ehren

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 585
  • Gender: Male
  • Of course this is a taper ticket!
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2005, 09:25:13 AM »
The + mod significantly increases sound quality through the AD section by improving the DC supplies. I've run both now and have heard the comp tapes that Doug did. All I can say is that it is like removing a blanket from your speakers when comparing the 2. In fact I found the + mod to be a more drastic improvement then just going from digi-mod to warm mod, to my ears it is essential and puts this box at the top of the list for me as far as concert taping goes. It also makes the UA5 a good stand alone ad if you want to run another pre in front of it, something that I felt it didn't do very well before due to the lack-luster analog in. All just my opinion.

Offline Myco

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7569
  • Gender: Male
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2005, 10:10:29 AM »
I've just got my AT853's upgraded to phantom power with the addition of AT8533's, and I just received my WMOD+ from Oade last nite. I'm taping Black Crowes Sat. nite @ Hampton Beach Casino. I'll shoot you a copy of it if you want to hear how this config sounds. One thing to keep in mind is that this is a small club, so it won't sound the same as recording a show in a bigger room, but it will give you one config to consider. Just let me know.
Microtech Gefell M200: M20/M21/M27 caps> Bumblebee MiAGi-II/Darktrain silver cable's/"Chuck" Belden cables> Aerco MP-2 or Busman modded DR-680 pre-amps> Darktrain cables & interconnects> Tascam DR-680 (Busman mod)
AT853's(card's/hyper's)>AT8533x>Aerco MP-2>Sony M10

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (57)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6702
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2005, 11:36:47 AM »
I would really like to see comparative WAV/FLACs of the noise floor with the units at the same gain levels.  Ideally at a couple different levels of input gain.

While capturing with the UA5, I can, for example, see the impact of adjusting the headphone output level as noise injected into the pre-amp, etc.  I usually use baudline for looking at this but any spectrographic analysis tool would do it.

It might even be useful to archive these types of samples (and the methodology) so anyone can verify that their
UA-5 (or Minime, etc) isn't more noisy than typical.

Of course this geek stuff doesn't relate to how the units sound.

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

Offline §†∑∫åµÞ≥¥

  • You can call me Steve.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Gender: Male
Re: WMOD vs. WMOD+; has anyone compared them?
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2005, 01:36:16 PM »
I've just got my AT853's upgraded to phantom power with the addition of AT8533's, and I just received my WMOD+ from Oade last nite. I'm taping Black Crowes Sat. nite @ Hampton Beach Casino. I'll shoot you a copy of it if you want to hear how this config sounds. One thing to keep in mind is that this is a small club, so it won't sound the same as recording a show in a bigger room, but it will give you one config to consider. Just let me know.

This is basically my exact rig (well, potentially... assuming I get the WMOD+). I'd LOVE to hear a copy of your Crowes show!!
"Absurdity is the only reality." - FZ

LMA recordings
www.capnutra.com

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.277 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company