Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Audioroot femto + Upre  (Read 27605 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (120)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40542
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #45 on: January 07, 2014, 12:04:06 AM »
Appologies...looks like my xlr>mini cable is what's causing the issue. I tried to use it with other gear and same problem.
I successfully used a pair of xlr>rca with mini adapter and signal was fine. Sorry for the bad info.
Regards,
Jim


Correct had a brand new xlr>mini gakcable made and signal was too hot.
Just a heads up for those interested in his pre....it has a balanced out only via xlr(5)> 2x xlr(3). I tried patching a sony m10 and sony d50 out of this box and it was too hot of a signal for both decks. I've used it with a dr680 and a r44 with no problem. Both trey and myself have the femto(L) which is the lower gain version. I asked audioroot to engrave my pre with "6db" on the back so if I ever sell it in the future the new owner will know which version it is....audioroot had no problem with my special request and didn't charge extra for the engraving which was really cool.
Regards,
Jim
Thanks Jim. Anyone else want to borrow?

I'd be up for trying out out if it's available.  I'm 99.9% most likely planning to tape Rusted Root later this month (01/17) and would be curious to run it w/ my rig. 

Shoot me a PM and let me know if it may be available.

Thanks, Trey!

Bryan

You tried running an XLR>1/8" cable into an m10? That's a HUGE bummer it's too hot for the m10 as that's what recorder I planned on using with mine when I get mine :(

Phew, that's good to hear!
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline full_gallop

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #46 on: January 13, 2014, 03:52:21 AM »
Hi all.
I have a Femto-L in excellent condition for sale. I'm in the EU.

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3767
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #47 on: January 16, 2014, 11:09:14 PM »
What does the HP on/off on the unit mean?  What does it do?  Should I run on or off? 

Running Trey's tomorrow night for Rusted Root.  Source will be: 483>Femto>661 (oade warm mod). 

Thought about running it in front of the V3.  But, didn't set it up in the bag to do so when I got stuff ready tonight.  Though, I may rig it up between bands tomorrow night to do so. We'll see...


12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline Phil Zone

  • Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 950
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #48 on: January 16, 2014, 11:56:18 PM »
What does the HP on/off on the unit mean?  What does it do?  Should I run on or off? 

Running Trey's tomorrow night for Rusted Root.  Source will be: 483>Femto>661 (oade warm mod). 

Thought about running it in front of the V3.  But, didn't set it up in the bag to do so when I got stuff ready tonight.  Though, I may rig it up between bands tomorrow night to do so. We'll see...

HP is a high pass filter. So it would reduce bass basically. I think it is at 75 hz that the frq  would slowly become less present. So leave it on the off position then if need be work in post. Good luck
Microphones: Busman BSC-1, AKG C460B/CK61/CK63, Samson CL2, CA-14 (cards), Naiant X-X
Preamps: Naiant Littlebox [X3] (OT)(OT/IT)(OT/Black), Naiant Tinyhead
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-05
Software: Sony Sound Forge/ Vegas, TLH
Photo: Canon 7D Mark ii/70D, 70-200 f2.8, 18-135 STM, 55-250 STM, Tamron 17-50 f2.8, Tokina 11-16 f2.8

LMA Shows: http://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Cam%20Keough%22&sort=-date

Marshall7

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #49 on: January 17, 2014, 12:33:53 AM »


Thought about running it in front of the V3.  .

Why? 

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3767
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #50 on: January 17, 2014, 11:08:43 AM »


Thought about running it in front of the V3.  .

Why?

no real reason...Ha.  The chances of that happening are very slim to none. 
12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (89)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4662
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #51 on: January 17, 2014, 02:04:20 PM »


Thought about running it in front of the V3.  .

Why?

Use the a>d of the V3 instead of 661?
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Marshall7

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #52 on: January 17, 2014, 03:58:38 PM »


Thought about running it in front of the V3.  .

Why?

Use the a>d of the V3 instead of 661?

I guess that's possible.  My first thought was "why does he want to run 2 preamps?" :)

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (120)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40542
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #53 on: January 25, 2014, 05:11:12 AM »
Since the 661 has the Oade mod, Id just run Femto>661!!! I cant frickin wait to run that sucka with my schoeps too, so I know how it sounds in venues I normally record at! As soon as I pay some bills, Im getting a PFA and saving up for a Femto. I should hopefully have it before summer 8) And Im also getting the Low Gain version like Treys is!
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3767
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #54 on: January 27, 2014, 10:00:57 AM »
Quote
Since the 661 has the Oade mod, Id just run Femto>661!!!

that's what i ended up running...
12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #55 on: January 27, 2014, 07:33:40 PM »
Quote
Since the 661 has the Oade mod, Id just run Femto>661!!!

that's what i ended up running...

Got a link to a sample?

Offline carlbeck

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2790
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #56 on: January 27, 2014, 08:40:50 PM »
I'd like to hear this too.
I know you like, tape for people's approval and stuff, and wave your tapes around like they're your dick...  but even you can't actually think section tapes from philips sound good.  



Mics: Telefunken Elam 260, 61, 62, MBHO KA200, KA500 > Niant PFA's, AKG C34L-MS
Preamps: Grace Lunatec V2, Shure FP24
Decks: Tascam DR-2d, Zoom F8

Old rig: Recording: AKG C34 & AKG CK1X or CK2X > MK46 > 460 > Aeta Mix2000 > Sound Devices 702

Playback: Thorens TD125, Denon DVD-2900> Bel Canto DAC-1 > Audible Illusions 3B > Rogue Atlas >ZU Wax Shotgun> Hyperion 938
ALL TUBES BABY!!!

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3767
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #57 on: January 28, 2014, 12:00:24 PM »
I haven't had time to track the show, yet.  But, will be happy to provide samples once done.  I'm hoping I can focus on that this week...
12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline carlbeck

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2790
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #58 on: February 02, 2014, 01:32:39 PM »
I'm really trying to figure out what this thing sounds like. The samples I've heard all sound different to my ears so I haven't been able to put a name to what I hear, I.e. Warm, transparent, fat or clean. It's interesting that those of you who have run this don't seem to have any way to explain it either. I guess at this point I'll just have to wait until I get it from Trey. Looks like a nice unit but it's odd that there seems to be no definition to its "house sound" This might be the first time I have seen a pre that acts like a chameleon with what ever mic's it's paired with!
I know you like, tape for people's approval and stuff, and wave your tapes around like they're your dick...  but even you can't actually think section tapes from philips sound good.  



Mics: Telefunken Elam 260, 61, 62, MBHO KA200, KA500 > Niant PFA's, AKG C34L-MS
Preamps: Grace Lunatec V2, Shure FP24
Decks: Tascam DR-2d, Zoom F8

Old rig: Recording: AKG C34 & AKG CK1X or CK2X > MK46 > 460 > Aeta Mix2000 > Sound Devices 702

Playback: Thorens TD125, Denon DVD-2900> Bel Canto DAC-1 > Audible Illusions 3B > Rogue Atlas >ZU Wax Shotgun> Hyperion 938
ALL TUBES BABY!!!

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (129)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3792
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Audioroot femto + Upre
« Reply #59 on: February 02, 2014, 01:37:00 PM »
If you are planning on running AKG actives you might want to check out Allyn's RRE NYE recording.  Sounds really good

https://archive.org/details/RRE2013-12-31.CK63.Femto.flac16

I'm really trying to figure out what this thing sounds like. The samples I've heard all sound different to my ears so I haven't been able to put a name to what I hear, I.e. Warm, transparent, fat or clean. It's interesting that those of you who have run this don't seem to have any way to explain it either. I guess at this point I'll just have to wait until I get it from Trey. Looks like a nice unit but it's odd that there seems to be no definition to its "house sound" This might be the first time I have seen a pre that acts like a chameleon with what ever mic's it's paired with!
Schoeps MK4's, MK41's> KCY 250/5 Ig> Schoeps VMS 5U> Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.249 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company