Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM D100 int mics vs Zoom H5 int mics  (Read 10457 times)

Offline Egor

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Sony PCM D100 int mics vs Zoom H5 int mics
« on: June 15, 2014, 08:35:33 PM »
Good day! Sorry for my english

I'm a musician in "vocals + acoustic guitar" genre. I need a portable recorder, i want to record all my songs on it, in order to add some "feelings of deep life" in my recordings, to make them non-mainstream. Something like "Basement tapes" of Dylan, but with better quality. All i need is internal mics. I want to record only to them.

My choice is between sony pcm d100 and zoom h5

I know, that it sounds a little bit funny (zoom h5 250$ and sony d100 800$), but this question is not so easy. Price - is not a way to show quality.

Is there any big difference in mics of this two recorders? Will i get really more high quality recordings via sony?
« Last Edit: June 15, 2014, 08:37:10 PM by Egor »

Offline bombdiggity

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Sony PCM D100 int mics vs Zoom H5 int mics
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 06:20:27 PM »
That's hard to say given few of us likely record that way or have compared. 

Sonys tend to have nicer sounding internal mics than most others but YMMV.  I assume a selling point of the H5 is the ability to change the mics to many configurations.  However if the tone of those choices is not up to your standard that may not matter. 
Gear:
Audio:
Schoeps MK4V
Nak CM-100/CM-300 w/ CP-1's or CP-4's
SP-CMC-25
>
Oade C mod R-44  OR
Tinybox > Sony PCM-M10 (formerly Roland R-05) 
Video: Varied, with various outboard mics depending on the situation

Offline fguidry

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • Kaleponi - Slack Key in California
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 10:06:56 PM »