Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play  (Read 2480 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« on: October 09, 2014, 11:59:50 AM »
I have a VIXIA HF R400 and recorded 2 shows on a tripod.

I have about 40gb of files, and none of them will playback on my laptop or the camera.

I will be be the 1st to admit I am not knowledgable on video and editing (like I am with FLAC and WAV files), but shouldnt I just be able to drop these files into the laptop and hit play?

Shouldn't i be able to watch them on the camcorder?

Any help is appreciated!

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2014, 01:29:25 PM »
You should be able to play them on the camera for sure.What does the camera show when you try to play them?Does it give an error code?Was the camera externally powered and lost power?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 01:31:31 PM by beatkilla »
Mics: Sennheiser mke2,AT 933's(c)(o)(h),Soundman OKM II Rock Studio,Sonic Studios DSM-6SL,Countryman B3, CA-14 (C) , Aiwa CM30,Shure mv88
Pre's: PA3SX-U , CA-9200 ,  CA-UGLY I , CA-UGLY II
BBox:PA-6LC3B , CA-UBB (x 3) , AC3
Decks: Sony PCM M10 (x 2)  , Tascam DR-2D

VIDEO : Sony FDR AX100 (4k) , Sony FX 1000 ( 3CMOS )
PHOTO : 7D x2 , 1DMK4 , Fujifilm X100T ( Canon EF 400mm F4 DO, Canon EF 500 F4 L ,Canon EF Extender 2x II,1.4xIII, 2x lll

A/V software: SONY VEGAS PRO 9.0e  -SONY VEGAS PRO 13,DVD Architect 5.0b

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2014, 02:14:13 PM »
The camera was on battery power, and on a couple of occasions, it told me it was shutting down and not to "do anything", so I let it do its thing, then put on a new battery and went back to recording.

There is no error, it just locks up, even if I leave it for a while on the camera

In the PC, the timer moves a little, but no audio or video at all

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1551
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2014, 10:22:36 PM »
You should be able to see the memory card on your pc and go into the file with the video which should play on windows media player.  Could be you have a bad card or something is up with your camera.

The video should play on the camera for sure in playback mode unless there's a problem with the card or camera.

Have you tried another card in it?

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2014, 05:58:36 PM »
What speed is the card?Too slow maybe?
Mics: Sennheiser mke2,AT 933's(c)(o)(h),Soundman OKM II Rock Studio,Sonic Studios DSM-6SL,Countryman B3, CA-14 (C) , Aiwa CM30,Shure mv88
Pre's: PA3SX-U , CA-9200 ,  CA-UGLY I , CA-UGLY II
BBox:PA-6LC3B , CA-UBB (x 3) , AC3
Decks: Sony PCM M10 (x 2)  , Tascam DR-2D

VIDEO : Sony FDR AX100 (4k) , Sony FX 1000 ( 3CMOS )
PHOTO : 7D x2 , 1DMK4 , Fujifilm X100T ( Canon EF 400mm F4 DO, Canon EF 500 F4 L ,Canon EF Extender 2x II,1.4xIII, 2x lll

A/V software: SONY VEGAS PRO 9.0e  -SONY VEGAS PRO 13,DVD Architect 5.0b

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2014, 11:22:06 AM »
I did some home testing over the weekend, and in a normal house environment everything seems to be OK... though I did use a different card this time.
Both are micro SD cards in converters to SD.  The failure recordings are both done on a Samsung 64GB Evo Class10 MicroSD.  The successful one was done on a Super Talent 64GB MicroSDXC Class 10 UHS  Model MSD64ST10R

I have not touched the card with the corrupted recordings, in hopes they can be salvaged... all cards were formatted in the camera itself, before use

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1551
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2014, 12:39:23 PM »
Is that camera supposed to take 64 gig cards?

I don't really trust adapters if I can avoid using them. 

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2014, 02:57:38 PM »
Yes, the card is supported... and it even formatted correctly
Card specs:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/n9jr2mbxydogkez/Capture.JPG?dl=0

I got as deal on a few of the Micro cards, and they seem to cost less than the full cards, and in many different devices I have not had an issue... but there is always a 1st  :'(

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1551
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2014, 05:11:07 PM »
I just looked at the manual for your camera.  There's a caution that an OS not set up for SDXC might ask you to format the card.  That made me wonder if your computer is formatting and reading your other SDXC card.  If so, the one card might be faulty.  Better one bad card, than one bad camera. 


Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6410
  • Gender: Male
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2014, 09:25:30 PM »
Woooooo I didn't know you had an adapter
Guarantee that's the issue
My r300 works perfect with sandisk ultra cards but will not work at all with a micro > sd adapter
Glad to hear the test seems to have worked. Do another test with the original card and see if it works
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2014, 01:52:25 PM »
I just looked at the manual for your camera.  There's a caution that an OS not set up for SDXC might ask you to format the card.  That made me wonder if your computer is formatting and reading your other SDXC card.  If so, the one card might be faulty.  Better one bad card, than one bad camera. 

The only format was the camera doing it to the card on 1st use.  It never prompted again.  The OS never prompted, it read the card on the 1st try

Woooooo I didn't know you had an adapter
Guarantee that's the issue
My r300 works perfect with sandisk ultra cards but will not work at all with a micro > sd adapter
Glad to hear the test seems to have worked. Do another test with the original card and see if it works

I wonder why the test worked and it was still a micro with a reader (different brand but still a 64gb ultra card.
I am still afraid to mess with the original card, as I dont want to corrupt anything that could still be salvageable :(
All of my standard SD cards are smaller and much slower (regular camera does not benefit from speed when taking pix)

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1551
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2014, 02:38:00 PM »
It could be the way the card adapter seated in the camera.  I have a couple of game cameras and one of them seems to be finicky about seating a regular sized SDHC card.   It acts like it recognizes the card, but then it doesn't record anything.  Next time, it might or might not record pictures.   

I don't know about your particular cards, but some cards are apparently better with some devices than others. 

Sandisk SDHC cards have never given me any problems in my Canon camcorders FWIW.


Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2014, 02:42:17 PM »
It could be the way the card adapter seated in the camera.<clip>

I have the ~40gb of files, they dont play in the laptop or the camera.... that is the hard part to swallow

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1551
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2014, 08:36:52 PM »
Sometimes I can find files using PCLinux that I can't otherwise find using windows.  You can download it to a USB drive and run it on a PC from the USB drive without installing it on the PC.

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2014, 08:57:55 PM »
Are you using a PC or Mac?In a PC do the files have a .mts extension?Does your camera have a repair image database function?
Mics: Sennheiser mke2,AT 933's(c)(o)(h),Soundman OKM II Rock Studio,Sonic Studios DSM-6SL,Countryman B3, CA-14 (C) , Aiwa CM30,Shure mv88
Pre's: PA3SX-U , CA-9200 ,  CA-UGLY I , CA-UGLY II
BBox:PA-6LC3B , CA-UBB (x 3) , AC3
Decks: Sony PCM M10 (x 2)  , Tascam DR-2D

VIDEO : Sony FDR AX100 (4k) , Sony FX 1000 ( 3CMOS )
PHOTO : 7D x2 , 1DMK4 , Fujifilm X100T ( Canon EF 400mm F4 DO, Canon EF 500 F4 L ,Canon EF Extender 2x II,1.4xIII, 2x lll

A/V software: SONY VEGAS PRO 9.0e  -SONY VEGAS PRO 13,DVD Architect 5.0b

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6410
  • Gender: Male
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2014, 10:26:57 PM »

Woooooo I didn't know you had an adapter
Guarantee that's the issue
My r300 works perfect with sandisk ultra cards but will not work at all with a micro > sd adapter
Glad to hear the test seems to have worked. Do another test with the original card and see if it works

I wonder why the test worked and it was still a micro with a reader (different brand but still a 64gb ultra card.
I am still afraid to mess with the original card, as I dont want to corrupt anything that could still be salvageable :(
All of my standard SD cards are smaller and much slower (regular camera does not benefit from speed when taking pix)
they say hd video is ok at class 4, 6 for sure so you might have a slower card good enough for testing purposes. I say testing because I'm not so sure I would trust a 4 for anything you really wanted to be safe on

It's poss the original card/adapter is the issue and thus why the test was ok

Beat - gmm has a pc
The files record in avchd .mts extention but there is no image fix that I am aware of on the camera

Gmm - if you want to send me the card I can look at it and see if anything different happens
« Last Edit: October 15, 2014, 10:55:49 PM by willndmb »
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2014, 10:51:47 AM »
PM, and I dont see a repair option.
The files are all MTS... ranging from 196mb to 4gb (as recorded by the camcorder itself). 36.1gb of files (2 openers and 2 headliners)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1355
  • Gender: Male
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2014, 10:55:50 AM »
Good luck it sounds promising if they are .mts files.Can you clone or make an ISO of the card before you do anything to it as a safeguard.
Mics: Sennheiser mke2,AT 933's(c)(o)(h),Soundman OKM II Rock Studio,Sonic Studios DSM-6SL,Countryman B3, CA-14 (C) , Aiwa CM30,Shure mv88
Pre's: PA3SX-U , CA-9200 ,  CA-UGLY I , CA-UGLY II
BBox:PA-6LC3B , CA-UBB (x 3) , AC3
Decks: Sony PCM M10 (x 2)  , Tascam DR-2D

VIDEO : Sony FDR AX100 (4k) , Sony FX 1000 ( 3CMOS )
PHOTO : 7D x2 , 1DMK4 , Fujifilm X100T ( Canon EF 400mm F4 DO, Canon EF 500 F4 L ,Canon EF Extender 2x II,1.4xIII, 2x lll

A/V software: SONY VEGAS PRO 9.0e  -SONY VEGAS PRO 13,DVD Architect 5.0b

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Canon Camcorder Video files - Corrupted? bad? - Wont Play
« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2014, 11:34:23 AM »
I have a complete copy/sync... but didnt think to do an ISO file, thanks for the suggestion +1

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.244 seconds with 41 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company