Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam DR-680 MKii  (Read 24362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kingdong

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #135 on: March 23, 2017, 08:43:14 PM »
What's the generally preferred external battery option for the 680 these days?

My stash of old 9V "DVD" LiIOn batteries are growing unreliable and I think it's time to move to something else.

I have a MK i which I have been powering with a talentcell with good results.
https://www.amazon.com/TalentCell-Rechargeable-12000mAh-Multi-led-indicator/dp/B00ME3ZH7C

I sometimes run a Y cord from the talentcell and power both the DR-680 and a MiniMe with it at the same time.  No problems to date.  Runtime has not been an issue.  Over 3 hours powering both and phantom power on 6 mics (4 on the 680 and 2 on the MiniMe)

Thanks I'll look into that one.  Ideally looking for something that will power it for a full festival day (say 12hrs) running 6ch of phantom to power Naiant PFAs. 

Open to other suggestions which have been proven to work for other members here, thanks all.

I should have been more clear in my post.  I think it was still showing 2 LEDs after the 3 hours; I have not run it down completely to test runtime as I rarely need more than 3 hours.  FWIW, I think the MiniMe is listed as a 5.5 W draw and the DR-680 MK i a 9W draw.

The talentcell will also allow recharging while in operation via a Y cable so I would expect that you could use a Y cable to seamlessly switch from one unit to another without powering down your rig.

There is also a larger capacity Talentcell with USB, 9V and 12V outputs.
https://www.amazon.com/TalentCell-Rechargeable-11000mAh-20000mAh-Portable/dp/B01337QXMA

Offline dallman

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #136 on: March 24, 2017, 01:40:58 PM »
What's the generally preferred external battery option for the 680 these days?

My stash of old 9V "DVD" LiIOn batteries are growing unreliable and I think it's time to move to something else.

I still use 2 old powerrunners that keep on ticking, and a mountain of various Tekkeon and Tekkeon knockoffs. For a while they were available on eBay at great prices, but I think that ship has sailed. I like the knockoffs better than the actual Tekkeons. Personally always go with 12 volts and in addition (try to remember to) keep fresh batteries in the deck just in case...

I think there are some good options in Amazon, but generally not inexpensive. Others can comment with their own personal experience, because these are the only 2 battery types I have ever used on anything requiring more than 5V.
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!

Online Gutbucket

  • record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11170
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #137 on: March 24, 2017, 05:06:53 PM »
Thanks guys.  Definitely going with 12V rather than 9, and always use internal AA's as a safety backup.
volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values | numeric values > voltages > vibrations > virtual teleportation time-machine experience

Offline GLouie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #138 on: June 05, 2017, 12:33:38 PM »
We just got our DR680mkII (already have a mk1), loaded firmware 1.02, and now the backlight goes out even on AC. Oddly, I found only one circumstance when it does not - when running on batteries, then plugging in the AC plug, and before hitting any button. After hitting any button, the recorder now backlight timeouts. Anyone else? Or have I missed something new?

Offline lukpac

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 172
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #139 on: June 05, 2017, 02:00:47 PM »
We just got our DR680mkII (already have a mk1), loaded firmware 1.02, and now the backlight goes out even on AC. Oddly, I found only one circumstance when it does not - when running on batteries, then plugging in the AC plug, and before hitting any button. After hitting any button, the recorder now backlight timeouts. Anyone else? Or have I missed something new?

Weird. And you're certain you're on AC? The battery level icon changes to an AC icon? If so, I'd contact Tascam. The backlight always stays on when plugged in for me, and I'm looking at the manual now and don't see any settings for when on AC.

Offline Chuck

  • Trade Count: (41)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10443
  • Gender: Male
  • time between the notes...
    • My recordings on the LMA
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #140 on: June 05, 2017, 03:18:28 PM »
Thanks guys.  Definitely going with 12V rather than 9, and always use internal AA's as a safety backup.

I'm in the same boat GB. I just bought one of these yesterday: https://www.amazon.com/Talentcell-Rechargeable-6000mAh-Battery-Portable/dp/B00MF70BPU/ref=lp_8899093011_1_7?srs=8899093011&ie=UTF8&qid=1496690209&sr=8-7
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.

Microphones: (2) Microtech Gefell M300, (2) AKG C 480 B comb-ULS/ CK 61/ CK 63, (2) CAD GXL1200 (cardioid and sub-cardioid capsule & electronics mod), (2) Audix M1290-o, (2) Micro capsule active cables w/ Naiant PFA's, (2) Naiant MSH-1O, (2) Naiant AKG Active cables, (2) Church CA-11 (cardioid), (2) CAD C9, (1) Nady SCM-1000 (mod)
Pre-amps: Naiant littlekit v2.0, BM2p+ Edirol UA-5, Church STC-9000
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, iRiver iHP-120 (Rockboxed & RTC mod), Denon DTR-80p

Recordings on the LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/ChuckM
Recording website & blog: http://www.timebetweenthenotes.com

Online Gutbucket

  • record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11170
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #141 on: June 06, 2017, 10:07:16 AM »
Thanks guys.  Definitely going with 12V rather than 9, and always use internal AA's as a safety backup.

I'm in the same boat GB. I just bought one of these yesterday: https://www.amazon.com/Talentcell-Rechargeable-6000mAh-Battery-Portable/dp/B00MF70BPU/ref=lp_8899093011_1_7?srs=8899093011&ie=UTF8&qid=1496690209&sr=8-7

I expect that will work well for you, Chuck.  I picked up the slightly larger capacity version of the same back in March and it's working nicely.  Had no problems recording 6 phantom powered channels all day (~12 hrs +) at a fest.
volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values | numeric values > voltages > vibrations > virtual teleportation time-machine experience

Offline Chuck

  • Trade Count: (41)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10443
  • Gender: Male
  • time between the notes...
    • My recordings on the LMA
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #142 on: June 06, 2017, 10:11:36 AM »
 :coolguy:
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.

Microphones: (2) Microtech Gefell M300, (2) AKG C 480 B comb-ULS/ CK 61/ CK 63, (2) CAD GXL1200 (cardioid and sub-cardioid capsule & electronics mod), (2) Audix M1290-o, (2) Micro capsule active cables w/ Naiant PFA's, (2) Naiant MSH-1O, (2) Naiant AKG Active cables, (2) Church CA-11 (cardioid), (2) CAD C9, (1) Nady SCM-1000 (mod)
Pre-amps: Naiant littlekit v2.0, BM2p+ Edirol UA-5, Church STC-9000
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, iRiver iHP-120 (Rockboxed & RTC mod), Denon DTR-80p

Recordings on the LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/ChuckM
Recording website & blog: http://www.timebetweenthenotes.com

Offline GLouie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #143 on: June 06, 2017, 11:13:20 AM »

Weird. And you're certain you're on AC? The battery level icon changes to an AC icon? If so, I'd contact Tascam. The backlight always stays on when plugged in for me, and I'm looking at the manual now and don't see any settings for when on AC.

Quite sure; the icon changes, but after pressing any button, the light times out as selected in the menu. Even with no batts. I tried reloading the firmware and doing the reset to factory in the menu, no change. It didn't behave like this on the original firmware 1.0 something. I'm skeptical Tascam will bother to answer; it must be my fault....

Offline dallman

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #144 on: June 06, 2017, 12:25:55 PM »

Weird. And you're certain you're on AC? The battery level icon changes to an AC icon? If so, I'd contact Tascam. The backlight always stays on when plugged in for me, and I'm looking at the manual now and don't see any settings for when on AC.

Quite sure; the icon changes, but after pressing any button, the light times out as selected in the menu. Even with no batts. I tried reloading the firmware and doing the reset to factory in the menu, no change. It didn't behave like this on the original firmware 1.0 something. I'm skeptical Tascam will bother to answer; it must be my fault....

I may be dead wrong about this, as I do not have my deck here at work, and maybe you already know this and it is what you have set, but I remember on some Tascams, you had to put the backlight setting to "OFF" which would imply no backlighting, but on some decks (not all of course that would be too simple) actually means the auto off function is disabled, therefore the backlight is always on.
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!

Offline GLouie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #145 on: June 06, 2017, 01:09:36 PM »
Yes, I tried backlight set to OFF, and yes, it's then always on! But I want the old behavior: times out on batts, and always on on AC. I never run a battery pack into the AC plug, that may concern some users.

Offline lukpac

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 172
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #146 on: June 06, 2017, 01:41:11 PM »
I'm skeptical Tascam will bother to answer; it must be my fault....

I contacted them a while back with some operating questions/issues with mine. Didn't get resolved via e-mail, but they did say to call. I haven't done so yet, but it may be worth a shot:

"Please give us a call at 323-727-7617 option #3 when you are in front of the unit. The issue you described would be best addressed over the phone.

Our hours: 8 a.m to 5 p.m Monday-Friday (pacific time) Lunch hour 12-1 pm"

Offline dallman

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #147 on: June 07, 2017, 01:22:38 PM »
Yes, I tried backlight set to OFF, and yes, it's then always on! But I want the old behavior: times out on batts, and always on on AC. I never run a battery pack into the AC plug, that may concern some users.

The DR680 MKII does not have that feature. I know I really liked that feature on my HD-p2 because at a festival or in the event of a bad external battery upon switching to internals I was alerted by the screen going dark that I was on internals. There were specific menu settings for battery separate from AC, so it was easy to have it set up as you mention. I had the MKI for a while and I never saw that feature being available, but you have the MKI and if you say it is, then I guess it is, but I do not see anything that separates the AC setting from battery setting. I have never seen it as available on the MKII, and I always thought that was pretty much the same as on the MKI, which I had for about a year or 2, it is one of many features that the HD-p2 has that most later models do not. For me it is not much of an issue, because I do use an external battery, and I think I had a Tekkeon go bad on me, but at some point I noticed the icon had switched from AC to batteries, so I swapped it out. I realize that does not help you. I do not think there is anything wrong with the deck, it is just that the feature does not exist.
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!

Offline lukpac

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 172
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #148 on: June 07, 2017, 01:59:54 PM »
Yes, I tried backlight set to OFF, and yes, it's then always on! But I want the old behavior: times out on batts, and always on on AC. I never run a battery pack into the AC plug, that may concern some users.

The DR680 MKII does not have that feature. I know I really liked that feature on my HD-p2 because at a festival or in the event of a bad external battery upon switching to internals I was alerted by the screen going dark that I was on internals. There were specific menu settings for battery separate from AC, so it was easy to have it set up as you mention. I had the MKI for a while and I never saw that feature being available, but you have the MKI and if you say it is, then I guess it is, but I do not see anything that separates the AC setting from battery setting. I have never seen it as available on the MKII, and I always thought that was pretty much the same as on the MKI, which I had for about a year or 2, it is one of many features that the HD-p2 has that most later models do not. For me it is not much of an issue, because I do use an external battery, and I think I had a Tekkeon go bad on me, but at some point I noticed the icon had switched from AC to batteries, so I swapped it out. I realize that does not help you. I do not think there is anything wrong with the deck, it is just that the feature does not exist.

I'm not sure what you mean. With the MKII, the backlight is always on when the unit is plugged in. From the manual:

"Use the BACKLIGHT item to set the amount of time since being last used until the backlight automatically turns OFF when operating on batteries."

http://tascam.com/content/downloads/products/873/e_dr-680mk2_om_va.pdf

That's been my experience.

Online Gutbucket

  • record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11170
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #149 on: June 07, 2017, 02:36:48 PM »
dallman, my DR680 MK1 and MK2 are both setup to operate as you describe the HDP2.

That is this- Back light remains on as long as power is supplied to the external jack.  Once power is no longer supplied to the external jack the machine reverts to the internal batteries and switches to whichever backlight setting one has previously specified in the menu (on/off/or a few various time-out choices).  I have mine set to a minimal amount of backlight-on time when on internal batteries to preserve the limited power when running on AA's.  I suspect that's how most other tapers would want it set.

So- as long as one sets it up to do so beforehand, when the backlight goes out while recording its a clear indication the external battery is either spent or has become disconnected.
volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values | numeric values > voltages > vibrations > virtual teleportation time-machine experience

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.226 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company