Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?  (Read 3344 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« on: May 15, 2015, 11:24:56 AM »
Fired up the AD1000 for the first time in a long time yesterday with an AC adapter.  Working perfectly.  I'm thinking of taking it out occasionally.   Which batteries should I be looking into?   I have one Tekkeon 3450 and two more on the way.  Will these do, or should I be looking for something more substantial.  Guide me please.  I have the old Eco-Charge that I could replace the battery.   

Next question for those who might know.  Which of the older 16/48 solid state decks can take a signal from the AD1000?   I don't want to put too much money into this if the AD1000 decides to die one day. 

Thanks!

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5266
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2015, 12:21:22 PM »
AD1000 pulls about 18W (w/ preamp on) or 12W (w/ preamp off).


3450 is a 60Wh battery so max time:
- 5 hours w/ preamp off
- 3 1/3 hours w/ preamp on

Note that the Tekkeon is sensitive to higher current pull and the casing can melt - as some users of the 788t have found
« Last Edit: May 15, 2015, 12:24:21 PM by H₂O »
Remember Creationists are primates too... just a little less evolved
LMA Recordings

List

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1531
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2015, 01:05:18 PM »
A Sony m1 will take a spdif signal no problem. A d7/8 also should. And a tascam p1. An hhb allows you to run from the aes output of the 1000 into the aes in on the portadat with an aes xlr>xlr cable.

But keep in mind that the spdif input is the 15 pin output/12 volt. So if you want to run straight into anything but a portadat you will, I think, need a 15 pin>spdif cable. And might as well include the 12 volt connection.

Paul at pro digital.com might still build these. 610-353-2400. Paul@prodigital.com. About 40 bux.

You could also get an optical>7pin and run a consumer deck out of the optical output of the 1000 if it works. Again, potentially a Paul item.

The Tekkeon might work, not sure. But you will minimally need a 15 pin>Tekkeon cable. Paul might be able to do this.

Some of this might be wrong I haven't run one in 8 years.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1531
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2015, 01:07:31 PM »
Updated pro digital info:

http://www.prodigitalinc.com

Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2015, 01:43:44 PM »
A Sony m1 will take a spdif signal no problem. A d7/8 also should. And a tascam p1. An hhb allows you to run from the aes output of the 1000 into the aes in on the portadat with an aes xlr>xlr cable.

But keep in mind that the spdif input is the 15 pin output/12 volt. So if you want to run straight into anything but a portadat you will, I think, need a 15 pin>spdif cable. And might as well include the 12 volt connection.

Paul at pro digital.com might still build these. 610-353-2400. Paul@prodigital.com. About 40 bux.

You could also get an optical>7pin and run a consumer deck out of the optical output of the 1000 if it works. Again, potentially a Paul item.

The Tekkeon might work, not sure. But you will minimally need a 15 pin>Tekkeon cable. Paul might be able to do this.

Some of this might be wrong I haven't run one in 8 years.

Natelsky?

I have the 15 pin--I have two.  Just did a quick test to my Sony D10 ProII ( AES ) and the signal passes just fine.  But the 15 pin power cable is broken.  It was hit and miss but did work.  I opened it up and the negative cable is disconnected.   

I don't want to run a DAT deck.  I also have a D8 but it's not working.  That was why I was wondering about decks like the PMD661 ( SPDIF ) or a Sony D50 ( optical ).

I have a Powersonic battery I could replace--I have the case with the power connector.  And charger too.  But if the Tekkeons wouldn't melt might go with them. 

Your FS add got me to thinking about the AD1000 I have.  tested and it works fine--so far.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1531
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2015, 02:05:25 PM »
Yep, who's this? Old fucks.  :-[

Oops, misread that, solid state. I have no power source for mine, but I'd guess it would pass signal to a 661 or D50 just fine via the 15 pin. I've hesitated but might spend a few bux on a 12 volt and see what 148>adk is like. It shouldn't sound any different than it did into a dat deck I guess....which is great. So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2015, 02:15:25 PM »
Yep, who's this? Old fucks.  :-[

Oops, misread that, solid state. I have no power source for mine, but I'd guess it would pass signal to a 661 or D50 just fine via the 15 pin. I've hesitated but might spend a few bux on a 12 volt and see what 148>adk is like. It shouldn't sound any different than it did into a dat deck I guess....which is great. So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)

A few of us old coots still hanging around--reminiscing about the good ol' days running 12v rigs  :P

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3239
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2015, 11:58:18 PM »
This thread reminds me I haven't had a grilled cheese sandwich in a while...  :laugh:

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1531
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2015, 11:11:54 AM »
No doubt.  :D

Has anyone held a grilled cheese speed test between a 1000 and a 7xx?  :-[
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline scb

  • Eli Manning should die of gonorrhea and rot in hell. Would you like a cookie, son?
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8518
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2015, 11:27:24 AM »
I haven't run one in 8 years.

crazy words coming from you

Offline fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1431
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2015, 05:50:32 PM »
So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)
Ha, I was considering getting that wheeled backpack setup out of the closet for the Chicago Dead shows. But no tapers tickets for me from the lottery, so I guess that isn't happening. Running 2 sets of mics, 2 pre-amps, batteries deck, etc., this shit is getting heavy again!

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1531
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2015, 09:04:40 PM »
So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)
Ha, I was considering getting that wheeled backpack setup out of the closet for the Chicago Dead shows. But no tapers tickets for me from the lottery, so I guess that isn't happening. Running 2 sets of mics, 2 pre-amps, batteries deck, etc., this shit is getting heavy again!

Wondering if you'd catch that.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2015, 01:06:33 PM »
I'm gonna do it!  Just bought another SLA to replace the dead one.  Looking to get my power cable repaired.  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 

Now I gotta find time and a band to tape.  Softball tournaments the next two and a half months every weekend just about.

Offline fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1431
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2015, 01:14:16 PM »
  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 
If you aren't running onto DAT you may as well do 20/48.

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2015, 01:21:05 PM »
  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 
If you aren't running onto DAT you may as well do 20/48.

I thought about it.  But then I'd be truncating 4 bits--right?  Might as well let the ad1000 do its thing with UV16?  It's been a while.

Offline fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1431
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2015, 01:25:17 PM »
  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 
If you aren't running onto DAT you may as well do 20/48.

I thought about it.  But then I'd be truncating 4 bits--right?  Might as well let the ad1000 do its thing with UV16?  It's been a while.
Yes, if you are planning to listen in 16 bit you may as well let the UV16 do the work for you, it sounds great.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1531
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2015, 01:58:54 PM »
I'd tend to agree,  though I can't recall for sure if the adk truncates at 20 bit or not.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5266
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2015, 02:18:17 PM »
AD1000 was a 20 bit converter but supports uv22 to run at 16bit (and sound close to 20bit) - you can set these options using the knobs a switch on the front (it also supports raw 16bit (w/o UV22 engaged)


The AD500e was 18bit and I have no idea if it noise shaped our you just ended up with a truncated signal


The AD500 was 16bit


In today's world you could simply run the AD1000 at 20bit into a 24 bit recorder and the recorder would PAD the missing 4 bits with 0's so you would be able to hear the AD1000 in it's raw form
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 02:22:21 PM by H₂O »
Remember Creationists are primates too... just a little less evolved
LMA Recordings

List

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #18 on: May 20, 2015, 11:01:30 AM »
I went to charge a old battery and the charger shows "charged".  Is this possible with an old SLA battery that might be dead?  I won't have the new SLA battery for a little while.  Here is the inside of the cover.  What is that on the negative side?  And could that cause the charger to read charged even though the battery might be dead?


Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5266
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #19 on: May 20, 2015, 11:18:25 AM »
You can remove that component in the battery - not really needed - I did this on my old 12v eco charge -  and may be causing the false reading

SLAs only last a few years even if unused (the longest I have heard of one lasting is maybe six years and it sat on the shelf much of that time.)

You probably need to swap out the cell

I am 75% the yellow component is this and there as a protection mechanism:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Varistor

It's also possible that the charger is shot (or needs adjustment or repair) - I had a ecocharge charger go on me years ago but I don't remember the behavior
« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 11:23:51 AM by H₂O »
Remember Creationists are primates too... just a little less evolved
LMA Recordings

List

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #20 on: May 20, 2015, 11:25:21 AM »
You can remove that component in the battery - not really needed - I did this on my old 12v eco charge -  and may be causing the false reading

SLAs only last a few years even if unused (the longest I have heard of one lasting is maybe six years and it sat on the shelf much of that time.)

You probably need to swap out the cell

I am 75% the yellow component is this and there as a protection mechanism:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Varistor

It's also possible that the charger is shot (or needs adjustment or repair) - I had a ecocharge charger go on me years ago but I don't remember the behavior

OK, Thanks!  I guess I'll need a charger too.  I'm not handy with a soldering iron so I'll leave the lid as is. 

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2015, 02:29:53 PM »
Got my power cable repaired and returned.  Gave it a quick test and the old 12v battery is dead.  Not sure why it's reading charged on the charger.  But the new the battery is working fine so far.  How long does the AD1000 run with the 12v 7 amp battery using P48?  So far, the PMD661 is taking a signal from the AD1000--even at 20/48.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1531
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #22 on: June 08, 2015, 02:54:26 PM »
I got about 2:45 with 4022s
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5266
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #23 on: June 08, 2015, 03:55:17 PM »
I got about 2:45 with 4022s


I would think:
7Ah / 1.5 A = 4.666666666666666... hours


Per the manual:
 
Other 12 Volt sources
Any good regulated 12 V DC, 1.5 amp linear power supply will sufficiently power the AD-1000. We do not rec- ommend using a switch-mode type power supply. In addition, we do not recommend the use of the TT-1200 “table-top” PSU designed for the AD-500. The AD-1000 takes more current than the TT-1200 can provide.
   



Remember Creationists are primates too... just a little less evolved
LMA Recordings

List

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5266
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #24 on: June 08, 2015, 05:06:48 PM »
I was able to get whole WSP 3-4 hours shows running km140 > ad1000 in the past on a single 7Ah SLA
Remember Creationists are primates too... just a little less evolved
LMA Recordings

List

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.207 seconds with 47 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company