Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?  (Read 3659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1452
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2015, 01:25:17 PM »
  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 
If you aren't running onto DAT you may as well do 20/48.

I thought about it.  But then I'd be truncating 4 bits--right?  Might as well let the ad1000 do its thing with UV16?  It's been a while.
Yes, if you are planning to listen in 16 bit you may as well let the UV16 do the work for you, it sounds great.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Gender: Male
  • Two things I hate havin to cook and tryin' to date
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2015, 01:58:54 PM »
I'd tend to agree,  though I can't recall for sure if the adk truncates at 20 bit or not.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5299
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2015, 02:18:17 PM »
AD1000 was a 20 bit converter but supports uv22 to run at 16bit (and sound close to 20bit) - you can set these options using the knobs a switch on the front (it also supports raw 16bit (w/o UV22 engaged)


The AD500e was 18bit and I have no idea if it noise shaped our you just ended up with a truncated signal


The AD500 was 16bit


In today's world you could simply run the AD1000 at 20bit into a 24 bit recorder and the recorder would PAD the missing 4 bits with 0's so you would be able to hear the AD1000 in it's raw form
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 02:22:21 PM by H₂O »
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 598
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #18 on: May 20, 2015, 11:01:30 AM »
I went to charge a old battery and the charger shows "charged".  Is this possible with an old SLA battery that might be dead?  I won't have the new SLA battery for a little while.  Here is the inside of the cover.  What is that on the negative side?  And could that cause the charger to read charged even though the battery might be dead?

Schoeps MK4/41/41v @ 70°>R05

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5299
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #19 on: May 20, 2015, 11:18:25 AM »
You can remove that component in the battery - not really needed - I did this on my old 12v eco charge -  and may be causing the false reading

SLAs only last a few years even if unused (the longest I have heard of one lasting is maybe six years and it sat on the shelf much of that time.)

You probably need to swap out the cell

I am 75% the yellow component is this and there as a protection mechanism:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Varistor

It's also possible that the charger is shot (or needs adjustment or repair) - I had a ecocharge charger go on me years ago but I don't remember the behavior
« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 11:23:51 AM by H₂O »
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 598
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #20 on: May 20, 2015, 11:25:21 AM »
You can remove that component in the battery - not really needed - I did this on my old 12v eco charge -  and may be causing the false reading

SLAs only last a few years even if unused (the longest I have heard of one lasting is maybe six years and it sat on the shelf much of that time.)

You probably need to swap out the cell

I am 75% the yellow component is this and there as a protection mechanism:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Varistor

It's also possible that the charger is shot (or needs adjustment or repair) - I had a ecocharge charger go on me years ago but I don't remember the behavior

OK, Thanks!  I guess I'll need a charger too.  I'm not handy with a soldering iron so I'll leave the lid as is. 
Schoeps MK4/41/41v @ 70°>R05

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 598
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2015, 02:29:53 PM »
Got my power cable repaired and returned.  Gave it a quick test and the old 12v battery is dead.  Not sure why it's reading charged on the charger.  But the new the battery is working fine so far.  How long does the AD1000 run with the 12v 7 amp battery using P48?  So far, the PMD661 is taking a signal from the AD1000--even at 20/48.
Schoeps MK4/41/41v @ 70°>R05

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Gender: Male
  • Two things I hate havin to cook and tryin' to date
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #22 on: June 08, 2015, 02:54:26 PM »
I got about 2:45 with 4022s
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5299
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #23 on: June 08, 2015, 03:55:17 PM »
I got about 2:45 with 4022s


I would think:
7Ah / 1.5 A = 4.666666666666666... hours


Per the manual:
 
Other 12 Volt sources
Any good regulated 12 V DC, 1.5 amp linear power supply will sufficiently power the AD-1000. We do not rec- ommend using a switch-mode type power supply. In addition, we do not recommend the use of the TT-1200 table-topPSU designed for the AD-500. The AD-1000 takes more current than the TT-1200 can provide.
   



Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5299
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #24 on: June 08, 2015, 05:06:48 PM »
I was able to get whole WSP 3-4 hours shows running km140 > ad1000 in the past on a single 7Ah SLA
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.174 seconds with 32 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company