Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?  (Read 3303 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline airbladder

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 556
  • Gender: Male
    • My recordings on archive:
How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« on: March 14, 2016, 10:34:49 PM »
Wondering if I can power an F8 and PSP-3 off a single Naztech battery.  The F8 says it can be powered by 9V, and the PSP-3 says it's max power is 9V.  So can I just get a cable that goes from the Naztech to both units and run them both at 9V?  Is it that straight forward or am i missing something?  Any input would be great.  I think I saw some people that thought running the F8 off 9V would be a bad idea because there would not be enough power to run phantom on all 8 channels that way. 

Microphones: Neumann U89i, Neumann KMR 82i, Neumann AK40/50>LC3>KM100.
Pres: AETA PSP-3
Decks: Zoom F8, Sony PCM-M10, Microtrack

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (31)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1927
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2016, 10:51:26 PM »
http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=143235.0

The orange box is what you want.

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 4568
  • Gender: Male
  • Saint Paul, MN
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2016, 08:49:32 AM »
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2016, 09:37:50 AM »

Offline MBHOTAPER

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
  • Gender: Male
  • Jam Bands Rock!
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2016, 09:47:50 AM »
[quote author=airbladder link=topic=176814.msg2180296#msg2180296 date=1458009289
Naztech dc out is 9-20 v.
Usb out is 5v only
Using for my pmd 661 ( 5v) and 9v to an apogee mmp

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5324
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2016, 11:05:06 AM »
I'm not sure if H2O is still in business.  He'd be my first option, but I've long considered buying one of these as well.

As of now I am not making more distribution units.

I would suggest borrowing a Naztech or other dual output battery from a friend first to make sure you don't have any grounding issues or loops with this setup.

If you do encounter loops then you would need a power distribution unit that supports isolated outputs such as this one from AudioRoot  (these are VERY expensive and IMO only worth it if you are doing PRO work):
http://www.audioroot.fr/product/bg-du-reg/

http://www.pro-sound.com/p/audioroot-esmart-bg-du-reg-power-distributor-with-universal-fuel-gauge-and-regulated-outputs.html
~$680 at Sound Pro
« Last Edit: March 15, 2016, 11:11:41 AM by H₂O »
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline airbladder

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 556
  • Gender: Male
    • My recordings on archive:
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2016, 12:16:27 PM »
On the PSP-3 it says max voltage is 9v.  But just looked up the manual and it says it will take from 9-12V with a 15V max.  If I can run the PSP-3 at 12V then I assume a single cable could power both the PSP-3 and F8 at the same time.  But why would the unit say 9V max when the manual says 15V max? 
Microphones: Neumann U89i, Neumann KMR 82i, Neumann AK40/50>LC3>KM100.
Pres: AETA PSP-3
Decks: Zoom F8, Sony PCM-M10, Microtrack

Online yug du nord

  • uncleyug>Snowman>
  • Trade Count: (53)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4968
  • made with natural flavor
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2016, 12:53:11 PM »
On the PSP-3 it says max voltage is 9v.  But just looked up the manual and it says it will take from 9-12V with a 15V max.  If I can run the PSP-3 at 12V then I assume a single cable could power both the PSP-3 and F8 at the same time.  But why would the unit say 9V max when the manual says 15V max?

I ran into the same conflicting info...  I was wanting to try the PSP-3 at 5v..  but have not tried that yet......  so this really isn't much help, but figured I'd link you to my thread with similar questions.

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=162238.0
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

Offline fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2016, 04:41:09 PM »
I just bought one of these TalentCell batteries to run my Tascam DR680 at 12v and EAA-PSP2 at 9V from the same battery. Has a separate output for each voltage.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016BJCRUO?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00
Just received it and it powers them both fine at home. But no field experience yet so I can't give a positive recommendation at this time. I have seen a few others that bought them for their DR680 so they may have some field experience.

Offline airbladder

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 556
  • Gender: Male
    • My recordings on archive:
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2016, 08:09:26 PM »
That looks nice. Let me know how it works.

I just bought one of these TalentCell batteries to run my Tascam DR680 at 12v and EAA-PSP2 at 9V from the same battery. Has a separate output for each voltage.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016BJCRUO?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00
Just received it and it powers them both fine at home. But no field experience yet so I can't give a positive recommendation at this time. I have seen a few others that bought them for their DR680 so they may have some field experience.
Microphones: Neumann U89i, Neumann KMR 82i, Neumann AK40/50>LC3>KM100.
Pres: AETA PSP-3
Decks: Zoom F8, Sony PCM-M10, Microtrack

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2016, 04:53:49 AM »
There are a BUNCH of Dual output batteries out there now! Someone posted a nice Naztech recently, which I would trust :) I would like a couple myself! I could power my VMS & 70d from one of those, with a 9v & 5v USB output :)

My Schoeps DC plug for my external VMS batteries is VERY finicky though! If I bump it or anything, I lose power sometimes! So I'm going to start leaving 8xAA batteries inside my VMS too, just in case that happens! I wish Schoeps made a right-angle DC connector, but it was damn near impossible getting the one I do have :P They said they were the last [2] in the USA at the time :P Anyway, I should be able to use the same 8xAA NIMH batteries in my VMS all weekend at festies, since it only needs to kick in when my external NIMH packs die :) But its such a PITA to insert/remove batteries in my VMS the way its setup! And it doesn't help my Schoeps KCY binder plug is FUCKD and needs a new 711 binder plug :P So putting batteries in my VMS requires a whole slew of things to happen first!!! That's why I just would rather use my NIMH external packs!
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Online yug du nord

  • uncleyug>Snowman>
  • Trade Count: (53)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4968
  • made with natural flavor
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2016, 11:03:09 AM »
^Bean..  the Radio Shack Adapta-plug has a right angle DC connector that fits the VMS.  I don't remember which plug though.  Worked for me perfectly in my 02IB days.
And it sounds like you need to make some stilts for your VMS..  that will help keep the KCY binder from getting wonky.  That was the biggest issue with a VMS for me..  the unit is small...  but with the KCY and BNC on the bottom, it becomes much bigger in the bag.

Sorry for the off topic stuff......  again.   :P
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2016, 08:40:16 PM »
^Bean..  the Radio Shack Adapta-plug has a right angle DC connector that fits the VMS.  I don't remember which plug though.  Worked for me perfectly in my 02IB days.
And it sounds like you need to make some stilts for your VMS..  that will help keep the KCY binder from getting wonky.  That was the biggest issue with a VMS for me..  the unit is small...  but with the KCY and BNC on the bottom, it becomes much bigger in the bag.

Sorry for the off topic stuff......  again.   :P

Exactly! I have mine sideways in my bag since its only an ON/OFF knob and gain knob, so I just put it on 20db of gain and turn it on, so sideways is perfect for me! But the straight DC plug is very close to the side of my bag! Its not an issue unless you like fall onto my bag or hit that dc plug specifically! It doesn't just lose power/signal! Only if its moved severely ;) Id LOVE to get a rt-angle rat shack plug, but Tonedeaf told me that Schoeps said that if you forgot to shut the VMS OFF, before you unplug the dc connector, it fries it somehow ??? That's why I was so anal about getting the actual Schoeps dc plug :P But Ive also heard from other tapers, just like you said above, that the rat shack worked fine for them too! Schoeps reasoning behind that was that the Schoeps dc plug has a special plastic piece at the end of the plug, to stop the board or power from frying if its pulled before the VMS is turned off! Well, I do that ALL of the time unfortunately :(

Sorry for the threadjack lol ;D

Ed, Id love to know how the Naztech works for the F8/PSP3 combo, if you go that route ;) Id like to grab one myself, to power my VMS/70d combo :)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline acidjack

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5829
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2016, 11:08:35 AM »
I just bought one of these TalentCell batteries to run my Tascam DR680 at 12v and EAA-PSP2 at 9V from the same battery. Has a separate output for each voltage.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016BJCRUO?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00
Just received it and it powers them both fine at home. But no field experience yet so I can't give a positive recommendation at this time. I have seen a few others that bought them for their DR680 so they may have some field experience.

I grabbed one of these  based on your post -- thank you. Going to try and give it a spin soon...
Mics: Schoeps MK4V, MK41V, MK5, MK22> CMC6, KCY 250/5, KC5, NBob; MBHO MBP603/KA200N, AT 3031, DPA 4061 w/ d:vice, Naiant X-X, AT 853c, shotgun, Nak300
Pres/Power: Aerco MP2, tinybox v2  [KCY], CA-UBB
Decks: Sound Devices MixPre 6, Zoom F8, M10, D50

My recordings on nyctaper.com: http://www.nyctaper.com/?tag=acidjack | LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/acidjack | twitter: http://www.twitter.com/acidjacknyc | Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/acidjacknyc

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (133)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3889
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2016, 11:20:19 AM »
I had Darktrain build me a 6 inch KCY extension with a Right Angle 711 binder coming out of the VMS 5U.   It works great and I don't have to worry about cable strain.  Sorry for the thread jack, but to keep it on track you can also see my Battery cable!  ;D

^Bean..  the Radio Shack Adapta-plug has a right angle DC connector that fits the VMS.  I don't remember which plug though.  Worked for me perfectly in my 02IB days.
And it sounds like you need to make some stilts for your VMS..  that will help keep the KCY binder from getting wonky.  That was the biggest issue with a VMS for me..  the unit is small...  but with the KCY and BNC on the bottom, it becomes much bigger in the bag.

Sorry for the off topic stuff......  again.   :P

Exactly! I have mine sideways in my bag since its only an ON/OFF knob and gain knob, so I just put it on 20db of gain and turn it on, so sideways is perfect for me! But the straight DC plug is very close to the side of my bag! Its not an issue unless you like fall onto my bag or hit that dc plug specifically! It doesn't just lose power/signal! Only if its moved severely ;) Id LOVE to get a rt-angle rat shack plug, but Tonedeaf told me that Schoeps said that if you forgot to shut the VMS OFF, before you unplug the dc connector, it fries it somehow ??? That's why I was so anal about getting the actual Schoeps dc plug :P But Ive also heard from other tapers, just like you said above, that the rat shack worked fine for them too! Schoeps reasoning behind that was that the Schoeps dc plug has a special plastic piece at the end of the plug, to stop the board or power from frying if its pulled before the VMS is turned off! Well, I do that ALL of the time unfortunately :(

Sorry for the threadjack lol ;D

Ed, Id love to know how the Naztech works for the F8/PSP3 combo, if you go that route ;) Id like to grab one myself, to power my VMS/70d combo :)
« Last Edit: April 01, 2016, 11:34:32 AM by jbell »
Schoeps MK4's, MK41's> KCY 250/5 Ig> Naiant PFA(60V)> Sound Devices Mixpre-6

Online pohaku

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 832
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to power F8 and PSP-3 off one battery?
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2016, 12:01:13 PM »
I picked up a RAVPower 23000 unit with 2 USB smart ports and one variable voltage DC port (9V/12V/16V/19V/20V).  Had Ted build me a RA Hirose power cable to go with.  The RAVPower was pricier than some of the other units now out there, so there may be less expensive options.  Now I just need a show to tape.
Mics: akg c460 (ck61, ck63), c414buls, c568eb; at4049a, 4051a, 4053a, at853; josephson c42; neumann U87, km84i; beyer m130, m160, m500; aea r84; gefell m71, mt711s, m200, m201; sony c38; schoeps cmc6, (mk4, mk21, mk41, mk4v); sennheiser mkh40, md421, md431, md541
Pres: API, a-designs, pendulum, purple, millennia, gt, littlebox, tinybox, usbpre2, CA 9200, pipsqueak, pueblo pending
Cables: KCY, CMR, Naiant AKG actives, PFAs, asst.  GAKables and Darktrain
Recorders/converters: dr680, m10, dr-2d, d50, dr70d, zoom f8, 788T SSD CL-8, lynx aurora 8


Yeah, I'm an attorney, but everyone needs a day job!

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.285 seconds with 38 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company