Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: AES3 Out to SPDIF In  (Read 1599 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 883
AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« on: January 18, 2017, 06:17:53 PM »
I am transcribing DAT tapes from a Sony 7040 to a Tascam DR-680.

The Sony 7040 has a AES3 output (110 ohms)

The Tascam has a SPDIF (75 ohms), but an internal menu setting to set the SPDIF to either SPDIF or AES3 (unclear whether it is AES3 or AES3id, the latter being 75 ohms)

Is it as easy as getting an XLR plug on one end and a SPDIF on the other with this setting, or do I need a transformer?

Thanks in advance.
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline ~Jon Stoppable

  • Trade Count: (46)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2441
  • Gender: Male
    • Naiant Studio
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 08:42:30 PM »
Depends on the particulars of the Tascam.  I would guess that the AES switch enables AES3id and can thus handle 1Vpp level (slightly higher than SPDIF).  I would guess that it's possible that input could handle the higher level of AES3, but that's not a guarantee.  A transformer alone won't drop AES3 to 1Vpp, you need a transformer + a pad, or if you don't care about balancing then just a pad will do.

Rane has details on the connection options:

http://www.rane.com/note149.html

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 883
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2017, 12:47:10 AM »
What about this box? Its a Hosa AES to SPDIF active box. 

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/395533-REG/Hosa_Technology_CDL_313_CDL_313_Data_Link.html

Per the Tascam owner's manual, the input for digital is either AES3 (not id) "automatically determined."

Do you think I can use an analog cable XLR to RCA (co-ax)?  Or do I buy the above box? 



Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline twatts (that "Pants" thing is so lame...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9538
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2017, 07:51:00 AM »
Someone around here made me an AES>SPDIF cable a while back...

Not sure if its anything special, but I've used it to do transfers from my R500 > HDP2 (via AES output > this particular cable > SPDIF input) without any issues...

I've since gone back to a more simple SPDIF>SPDIF connection...

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline kingdong

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2017, 08:53:48 AM »
Someone around here made me an AES>SPDIF cable a while back...

Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...

Offline Fried Chicken Boy

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2836
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2017, 01:41:25 PM »
Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=146929.msg1996947#msg1996947

Another vote here for DigiGal's AES>S/PDIF cable, they are beautifully made and definitely do the job.  The one caveat, which she warned me about ahead of time, is that some gear combos are only compatible at certain sampling rates due to differences between some manufacturer's AES and SPDIF protocols.  For the MixPre-D>R-44 rig I got it for, it will only lock at 24/96. 

Offline kingdong

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2017, 02:35:53 PM »
Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=146929.msg1996947#msg1996947

Another vote here for DigiGal's AES>S/PDIF cable, they are beautifully made and definitely do the job.  The one caveat, which she warned me about ahead of time, is that some gear combos are only compatible at certain sampling rates due to differences between some manufacturer's AES and SPDIF protocols.  For the MixPre-D>R-44 rig I got it for, it will only lock at 24/96.
I have had no problems with the Apogee > DR-680 at 24/44.1 but I have not tried other sampling rates.

Offline twatts (that "Pants" thing is so lame...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9538
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2017, 03:43:08 PM »
Someone around here made me an AES>SPDIF cable a while back...

Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...

Yep that's her!  Thanks!

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline pdxdanmusic

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 236
  • Gender: Male
  • pdxtaper
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2017, 09:04:23 PM »
DigaGal made mine also.

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 883
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2017, 07:05:49 PM »
Impedance is half of it, but the voltage for AES is 5v.  The voltage for SPDIF is .5v, so even with the proper impedance, the SPDIF input will be getting 10 times the voltage the connector is designed for. 

That said, the DR680 has settings which purport to adjust for this, but whether they adjust for the file format, impedance and voltage remains to be seen. 

Thoughts? 
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline ~Jon Stoppable

  • Trade Count: (46)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2441
  • Gender: Male
    • Naiant Studio
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2017, 07:34:47 PM »
The physical connector can handle a way higher voltage, but it's the receiving circuit that is at issue.  I would be surprised if it couldn't handle at least 3V though, since that's probably its voltage supply (3.3V).  Much more than that is not guaranteed unless specified.

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 822
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2017, 09:12:35 PM »
The physical connector can handle a way higher voltage, but it's the receiving circuit that is at issue.  I would be surprised if it couldn't handle at least 3V though, since that's probably its voltage supply (3.3V).  Much more than that is not guaranteed unless specified.

Sounds like a case of - "if it works...it's working. If it doesn't work, its not working..."
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 883
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2017, 10:04:52 PM »
Man, I don't want to fry that SPDIF circuit, because the guy I've borrowed the unit from (actually I sold mine to him) will be really pissed, and I'll have to buy another 680.  So I think the safe bet is the HOSA box which acts at both the impedance and the voltage levels. 
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline ~Jon Stoppable

  • Trade Count: (46)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2441
  • Gender: Male
    • Naiant Studio
Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2017, 10:53:20 PM »
The physical connector can handle a way higher voltage, but it's the receiving circuit that is at issue.  I would be surprised if it couldn't handle at least 3V though, since that's probably its voltage supply (3.3V).  Much more than that is not guaranteed unless specified.

Sounds like a case of - "if it works...it's working. If it doesn't work, its not working..."

Probably, but I couldn't rule out "if it works, it works, if it doesn't, it breaks".  I mean it's not very hard to protect against an input 4V over your supply rails, but that doesn't mean that they did that.  A lot of AES transmitters aren't driven that hard anyway (many of them are probably running the same 3.3V for the same reason), and there are losses to the cable as well, so I doubt anything would break, but the standards aren't designed to be directly compatible.

Offline noahbickart

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1367
  • Gender: Male
  • Nobody's finished, we ain't even begun
Recording:
Capsules: Schoeps mk41v, mk4v, mk22, mk3 & mk8
Cables: 2x nbob KCY, Darktrain 2 and 4 channel KCY extensions:
Preamps:    Naiant Littlebox, Naiant IPA, Naiant PFA
Recorders: Tascam Dr-70d, Sony PCM m10
Home Playback: Mytek Stereo96> Adcom SLC 505> Marantz Ma500 (x2)> Eminent Tech LFT-16; Musical Fidelity xCan v2> Hifiman HE-400
Office Playback: Grace m903> AKG k701

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.151 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company