Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?  (Read 1363 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dolphinsmile

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 105
how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« on: March 24, 2017, 08:11:03 AM »
right now im cloning to microtrack, but was wondering if there was another way, simple and cheap?
i have a small opcode datport device but no software> does anyone know where to obtain the software and if it would work on windows 7 or 8?
mucho appreciation in advance

Offline dnsacks

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1642
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2017, 05:50:50 PM »
Personally, unless it's giving you trouble, I'd continue transferring digitally (right?) using the microtrack.  DAT transfers are asynchronous (meaning there's no real "back and forth" between the devices to assure integrity of the digital signal).  Given all of the background tasks going on in a computer, it's surprisingly easy for a computer to miss/skip parts of the data stream sent to it, resulting in dropouts. 

Since the microtrack is designed to receive a digital signal (and is dedicated to doing so), it should do a much better job of capturing the data stream from the DAT player.  And, since transfer of the flash drive to the pc occurs in a synchronous manner (i.e. the integrity of the datastream IS confirmed during transfer), you stand a much better shot at avoiding corruption during transfer. 

What issues are you having using the microtrack?

Offline dolphinsmile

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 105
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2017, 10:12:04 AM »
microtrack speeds up the tape when cloning a 32 dat.
ive fixed on goldwave using pitch correction but its a bitch.

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (31)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2017, 10:40:48 AM »
Import your file as raw data into your audio editor. It should ask you to define the wav details, so set it at 32k, 16 bit. It should now play normally. Resample the file to 44.1 or 48 and save.

Offline dolphinsmile

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 105
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2017, 10:51:16 PM »
thx will give it a try.

Offline todd e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3435
  • Gender: Male
  • ***Team Schoeps***
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2017, 09:32:23 AM »
i have the opcode software somewhere, but you need a win98 box i think, for some reason i didnt remember win7 working out

Offline dolphinsmile

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 105
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2017, 02:31:03 PM »
i have the opcode software somewhere, but you need a win98 box i think, for some reason i didnt remember win7 working out

if you find it and can make me a copy let me know. ill test it out on an older computer, maybe i can make the box i have work.

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 901
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2017, 07:49:24 PM »
Having just transferred over 200 DATs, I would opt to record to a stand alone recorder with matching inputs to the outputs in your DAT deck, either AES or SPDIF.  Computers are hit and miss unless you have a dedicated stand alone computer without any other functions going on, and even then I wouldn't trust it.  I just transfer the wave files from the SD Card to the computer. 
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline dolphinsmile

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 105
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2017, 02:47:06 PM »
im talking about a LOT more than 200 dats.
i do have a couple of microtracks and they work fine but i also have the little opcode box that id like to test out, if anyone can copy the software for me.

Offline todd e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3435
  • Gender: Male
  • ***Team Schoeps***
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2017, 11:07:48 AM »
it wouldnt work for me on win7.  i kept an older WIN box around for just this type of work, but it would inevitably fail if a computer process began midway thru a transfer. 

Offline todd e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3435
  • Gender: Male
  • ***Team Schoeps***

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Gender: Male
Re: how to dat clone to computer? opcode datport software?
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2017, 08:45:03 PM »
I don't remember the OPCode DATport needing a driver (it uses standard USB Audio miniport drivers) but you can only change the sampling rate using the OPCode software which only works in Windows 95/98/ME

BTW - it only supports 44.1 and 48Khz

Read more info on this old thread:
http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=42147.0
« Last Edit: June 02, 2017, 08:47:13 PM by H₂O »
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.192 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company