Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)  (Read 3776 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline twoheadedboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 121
  • Gender: Male
  • Catching signals that sound in the dark....
Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« on: September 11, 2006, 11:34:07 PM »
I know this is the recording forum, but it pertains to my R-09. I got this card and Windows XP Pro SP2 with all updates only recognizes it as 989 MB (Alienware laptop 6-in-1 internal card reader). I got some kind of "fix" from the Transcend website and it recognizes it as the right size, but won't fix it. I know I can't format it with the R-09, so what I do now?
DSM-6S/EL > PA-24NJ > PCM-M10

I'll tape east of Omaha, west of Indianapolis, south of Minneapolis, and north of St. Louis for the right show!

Offline lbgspam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2006, 12:49:41 AM »
Try another card reader.

Offline twoheadedboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 121
  • Gender: Male
  • Catching signals that sound in the dark....
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2006, 12:54:02 AM »
Any recommendations on a cheap one I can go pick up at Best Buy?
DSM-6S/EL > PA-24NJ > PCM-M10

I'll tape east of Omaha, west of Indianapolis, south of Minneapolis, and north of St. Louis for the right show!

Offline lbgspam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2006, 12:59:41 AM »
Any recommendations on a cheap one I can go pick up at Best Buy?

Nope, sorry.  I know there is a unit from Transcend themselves.  Otherwise here is a cheap $6 delivered one that I am planning to get myself (I am using my SD reader in my laptop without problems for now). 

http://meritline.stores.yahoo.net/readers.html

Or, just plug in your R-09 into your computer and it will mount as a hard disk and format the SD card that way.


Offline twoheadedboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 121
  • Gender: Male
  • Catching signals that sound in the dark....
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2006, 01:29:21 AM »
I can plug it into the computer and it can make the R-09 format the 4GB card?
DSM-6S/EL > PA-24NJ > PCM-M10

I'll tape east of Omaha, west of Indianapolis, south of Minneapolis, and north of St. Louis for the right show!

Offline lbgspam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2006, 01:32:50 AM »
I can plug it into the computer and it can make the R-09 format the 4GB card?

Yes, using the USB cable included. XP mounts the R-09 as an external hard drive (others have reported, I haven't bothered yet but it should work fine). Format it using XP as Fat32


Offline twoheadedboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 121
  • Gender: Male
  • Catching signals that sound in the dark....
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2006, 01:45:33 AM »
Thank you!! If I knew how to give you a ticket or what they were good for, I would :D
DSM-6S/EL > PA-24NJ > PCM-M10

I'll tape east of Omaha, west of Indianapolis, south of Minneapolis, and north of St. Louis for the right show!

Offline lbgspam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2006, 07:58:36 AM »
Thank you!! If I knew how to give you a ticket or what they were good for, I would :D

Sure. No problem. 

Give tickets by clicking the left link below the user name, T- by clicking the right link.

Tickets: 2
[gdtstoo] [ptbm]

Offline dlantelme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2006, 06:10:56 PM »
my card only formatted to 989 as well, using both the internal sd slot and a cardreader. Trying to format the 4g card in the r09 hooked up to the computer did not work at all.
Just got another cardreader(Sandisk 5 in 1) and it read and formatted the card to 3.86g.
great.
when I put the card into the r09 and check informatio on the sd card, it tells me the total=-145.73mb and Remain=-145.73.
now, I know the r09 doesn't support the 4g card, but a negative number?
what gives?
and I haven't updated firmware, I see people referring to 1.03, how do I know what it's running and how to update?
thanks to all
CCM4>SX-M2>UA5>M1

Offline simon151

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2006, 07:11:06 PM »
Quote
and I haven't updated firmware, I see people referring to 1.03, how do I know what it's running and how to update?
thanks to all

Look in the bottom left corner of the display when you power it on, should say Ver 1.03 or Ver 1.02

You can find the firmware update and instructions here...
http://www.rolandus.com/products/productdetails.aspx?ObjectId=757&ParentId=114

Simon

Offline coloartist

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2040
  • MGoldey -"you can shove those mics up your ass
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2006, 07:18:00 PM »
Not an R09 but on my Microtrack.

I bought this 4gb Transcend card.

When I hit record it says "media full", then I hit it again and it works fine.
mk4>Kwon/din a/din>kc5>cmc6>kindkables XLR>788T
mk22>Kwon/NOS>kc5>cmc6>kindkablesXLR>788t
ccm41> (lemo)>788t                                                         
Canon XH-A1/HV30  Panasonic DVC30                        
Samsung Backlit LED 55">Pioneer Elite SC-27>Snell Acoustics E.5  Series

Offline dlantelme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2006, 07:47:19 PM »
thanks Simon, +t to you. Mine's runnining 1.03
anyone care to comment on what your r09 says when you hit info with a formatted Transend 4gb card?
CCM4>SX-M2>UA5>M1

Offline lbgspam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2006, 10:12:59 PM »
thanks Simon, +t to you. Mine's runnining 1.03
anyone care to comment on what your r09 says when you hit info with a formatted Transend 4gb card?

What you see is normal. Check the FAQ i started.
Says you will see -145mb or something, hit record and all works fine.

Offline dlantelme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2006, 11:39:30 PM »
thanks for the reinforcement that all is ok. first run with the r09 without a backup last night yielded typical results, I haven't shielded the ridiculous red record light and didn't want to take it out enough to reach the hold button. I lost the second half of the first set of Dave Brubeck (from the 6th row) , the light was flashing when I went to turn it off so it must have hit pause in my bag.
   Other than that, this thing is great. Set at 8, used the M2 for levels,sounds great and so small and light.
thanks for starting the FAQ, reading over 50 pages to distill the gems is tough, I hung in on most of Pt1 to the point I wanted one and ordered it from Cascade, but since then...only when I'm stumped.
+t
CCM4>SX-M2>UA5>M1

Offline JD

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1637
Re: Transcend SD 4gb 150x card issue (pertaining to R-09)
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2006, 10:12:19 AM »
Rather than start a new thread I'll hijack this one somewhat.

I can not get my R-09 to recognize my Transcend 4GB SD card (part # TS4GD150) I have tried formatting it with several card readers, including the San Disk 5 in 1 reader that others hear have had success with. The R-09 is new and has firmware version 1.03 installed.

After reformatting the card with the program I got from Transcend's web site, the PC will show a capacity of 3.8 Gigs. problem is the R-09 will only display a text that states that the "SD card is not formatted", and will not let me go any further.

Any ideals what I might be doing wrong?

I got all these new toys and I can't play  with them, kinda getting bummed out.  ???
Mics: DPA 4022, 4060; Nevaton MC51, MCE400; Gefell sms2000, m20, m21, m27
Pres: DPA MMA6000; Grace V2; Portico 5012; Sonosax SX-M2
Recorders: Edirol R09hr, Sound Devices 722

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.265 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company