Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Photography tips for quiet, sit-down concerts  (Read 4816 times)

Offline bgalizio

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/spyboychoir
Photography tips for quiet, sit-down concerts
« on: February 16, 2009, 01:12:39 PM »
I am new to concert photography (wife and I got a Canon Rebel XS for Christmas). While I've been reading on tips for low-light photography, I have not found any tips for this situation: We generally see quiet, sit-down shows where you could easily hear a pin drop. Audiences are generally very respectful and attentive. How do you shoot in those situations? I've afraid that milling around and the shutter sound will be distracting to the attendees.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2009, 01:14:57 PM by bgalizio »

Offline spreetaper

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
    • Brooklynvibes.com
Re: Photography tips for quiet, sit-down concerts
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2009, 02:55:01 PM »
first thing would be to share what type of lense you plan on using
My new blog site with live recordings and photography
(Brooklynvibes.com)

Cameras = Digital Rebel XT, XTi
Lenses =Canon 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.8, 85mm f1.8, 
70-200mm f2.8, 24-70mm f2.8
Tokina AT-X 124 (12-24 f/4)

Main Rig = AKG 414's > SD 702
Extra gear = Apogee MiniMe, Sound Devices MP-2, Tascam HD-P2
Stealth = AT853's > BB > Edirol R-09

Playback = Cambridge DVD> Digital Link III > Trio C-100> VR-1's

Offline bgalizio

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2009, 03:11:15 PM »
While I'm sure not ideal for low-light, the Canon XS came with:
18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
75-300mm f/4-5.6

I'm sure there will be a million suggestions to get a different lens - not going to happen at this time.

I should mention that I'm referring to small venues (<500 people, usually around 150 people). Some would be theatre seating, some folding chairs.

Offline rastasean

• in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)