Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: A complete newbie on taping  (Read 2372 times)

Offline zepper

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
A complete newbie on taping
« on: March 24, 2007, 07:40:03 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and i have to say wow, what a site. Well i'm planning to tape some bands in Finnish festivals, but i'm a complete newbie on taping. So i'm asking a bunch on questions here. Would minidisc be an option? Someone was selling a Sharp MD-MT90 and Sharp MD-MT90. Would this equipment be a good start? Would this minidisc recorder record in lossy or can i record lossless with it? Thanks in advance and sorry for my bad english.  :P

Offline ballerusk

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Soft spot for the sweet spot
Re: A complete newbie on taping
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2007, 08:08:42 PM »
Lots of people here that don't have English as their native language so no worries I believe ;)

As always start here: http://taperssection.com/index.php/board,46.0.html

To your questions: MD would be a cheap recorder yes and if you have a recorder capable of HiMD that's good. However to go that extra mile I would recommend one of those iRivers (H120/H140 I think) or a Nomad Jukebox 3 which are in the $150-price range and also record in lossless WAV (16/44.1 = CD quality). They are both out of production but you should be able to find one by watching this board or eBay. If you want to go even further try the Edirol R-09 or Microtrack, both at $300-something, recording on SD and CF-cards respectively. Further up from that again.. I don't know, I haven't got further :P
Schoeps MK41s > Schoeps CMRs > Naiant Tinybox > Sony PCM-M10

dorrcoq

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2007, 10:12:16 PM »
Nothing wrong with your English :)

Offline Kindguy

• Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2007, 10:23:48 PM »
Hi everyone,