Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Couple of TOTAL NEWBIE Questions  (Read 2697 times)

Offline som

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Couple of TOTAL NEWBIE Questions
« on: November 09, 2007, 08:39:42 AM »
I confess up front that I haven't done much searching for this info, but hopefully a few kind souls will bring me up to speed....

Up until now I've pretty much just owned a TV, plugged a few things into it, and watched/listened the TV. Most of my "entertainment electronics" focus has been on two channel playback. I'm thinking of dipping my toe into a more modern approach to visual entertainment! So, let the stupid questions flow!

- Modern AV amps actually take multiple video inputs, right? And then outputs a single video output to the TV, based on the source selector on the AV amp? Kind of like an audio amp takes multiple inputs, and then outputs to the speakers, right? So no more messing with how to hook up a DVD, VCR, cable, etc......it all goes into one "box".

- If the above is correct, is there a front-runner cheap AV amp? By cheap I mean $200 or so. Recommendations appreciated!

- What can I do for 8mm playback? We have a bunch of 8mm family movies that we never watch because it's a hassle hooking up the camera to the TV (and the camera is dead since I dropped it anyway). I hope to ultimately convert these to DVD, but it sure would be nice to have a componenet that plays 8mm tapes.

That's enough for now. Information appreciated!

AT ES943/C's > Church Audio ST-9100 > iRiver H100 (Rockboxed)

Offline John Kelly

• Been a while...
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • The Jokell
Re: Couple of TOTAL NEWBIE Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2007, 08:45:42 AM »
1) Yes