Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Digital Recording  (Read 3571 times)

Offline AMdew11

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Digital Recording
« on: December 12, 2008, 10:38:25 PM »
OK, I am extremely new to all of this (like my 2nd day), but I'm hoping to get some help on the basics.  I was told that I should grab a Digital Recorder as opposed to DAT as they are on their way out.  It's small and should only cost me about $500 right?  I would patch into the soundbrd. of the band and am close with their sound guy, so he'll be patient in the beginning.  I want aux out right?  At this point I don't think I'm even gonna get a mic.  Any suggestions on a specific one?  I then would be hoping to upload and track for the archive and make hard discs to give out at shows (samplers).  Thanks for everyone's advice and please excuse the billion more questions I will have.   :D

peace  n

Offline fozzy

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • move along, nothing much to see here
Re: Digital Recording
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2008, 11:09:11 PM »
http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,114292.0.html

add a few flash cards and you are well on your way.

Welcome to taping, check your wallet @ the door
MK 4V > KCY 250/5 Ig (KS 10I)  > VST62IUg > 722

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2008, 11:24:41 PM »

Welcome to taping, check your wallet @ the door

In NASCAR they say, "Speed costs money.  How fast do you want to go?"  Here it is about the same.  However, listen up around here and you can get some good pointers and deals to get you started recording with excellent results.  Not right away.  But your first attempts will amaze you.  Then you're hooked and, as the man said above, check your wallet at the door.

Have fun.
Nov schmoz kapop.

Offline sunjan

• Taping since 1988, 28 years of fine recordings...
    • Just a handful of stuff I put on etree
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2008, 04:42:21 PM »