Taperssection.com

Gear / Technical Help => Battery Boxes, Preamps, Mixers, ADCs, and Processors => Topic started by: Scooter123 on January 18, 2017, 06:17:53 PM

Title: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: Scooter123 on January 18, 2017, 06:17:53 PM
I am transcribing DAT tapes from a Sony 7040 to a Tascam DR-680.

The Sony 7040 has a AES3 output (110 ohms)

The Tascam has a SPDIF (75 ohms), but an internal menu setting to set the SPDIF to either SPDIF or AES3 (unclear whether it is AES3 or AES3id, the latter being 75 ohms)

Is it as easy as getting an XLR plug on one end and a SPDIF on the other with this setting, or do I need a transformer?

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: Scooter123 on January 19, 2017, 12:47:10 AM
What about this box? Its a Hosa AES to SPDIF active box. 

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/395533-REG/Hosa_Technology_CDL_313_CDL_313_Data_Link.html

Per the Tascam owner's manual, the input for digital is either AES3 (not id) "automatically determined."

Do you think I can use an analog cable XLR to RCA (co-ax)?  Or do I buy the above box? 



Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: twatts (that "Pants" thing is so lame...) on January 19, 2017, 07:51:00 AM
Someone around here made me an AES>SPDIF cable a while back...

Not sure if its anything special, but I've used it to do transfers from my R500 > HDP2 (via AES output > this particular cable > SPDIF input) without any issues...

I've since gone back to a more simple SPDIF>SPDIF connection...

Terry
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: kingdong on January 19, 2017, 08:53:48 AM
Someone around here made me an AES>SPDIF cable a while back...

Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: Fried Chicken Boy on January 19, 2017, 01:41:25 PM
Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=146929.msg1996947#msg1996947 (http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=146929.msg1996947#msg1996947)

Another vote here for DigiGal's AES>S/PDIF cable, they are beautifully made and definitely do the job.  The one caveat, which she warned me about ahead of time, is that some gear combos are only compatible at certain sampling rates due to differences between some manufacturer's AES and SPDIF protocols.  For the MixPre-D>R-44 rig I got it for, it will only lock at 24/96. 
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: kingdong on January 19, 2017, 02:35:53 PM
Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=146929.msg1996947#msg1996947 (http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=146929.msg1996947#msg1996947)

Another vote here for DigiGal's AES>S/PDIF cable, they are beautifully made and definitely do the job.  The one caveat, which she warned me about ahead of time, is that some gear combos are only compatible at certain sampling rates due to differences between some manufacturer's AES and SPDIF protocols.  For the MixPre-D>R-44 rig I got it for, it will only lock at 24/96.
I have had no problems with the Apogee > DR-680 at 24/44.1 but I have not tried other sampling rates.
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: twatts (that "Pants" thing is so lame...) on January 19, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
Someone around here made me an AES>SPDIF cable a while back...

Digigal makes an AES > S/PDIF cable with impedance matching.  I had her make one for me not too long ago and it works perfectly for running my Apogee (A/D500 and MiniME) into Tascam DR-680.
I did a quick search but did not find the Digigal cable thread...

Yep that's her!  Thanks!

Terry
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: pdxdanmusic on January 21, 2017, 09:04:23 PM
DigaGal made mine also.
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: Scooter123 on January 22, 2017, 07:05:49 PM
Impedance is half of it, but the voltage for AES is 5v.  The voltage for SPDIF is .5v, so even with the proper impedance, the SPDIF input will be getting 10 times the voltage the connector is designed for. 

That said, the DR680 has settings which purport to adjust for this, but whether they adjust for the file format, impedance and voltage remains to be seen. 

Thoughts? 
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: Life In Rewind on January 22, 2017, 09:12:35 PM
The physical connector can handle a way higher voltage, but it's the receiving circuit that is at issue.  I would be surprised if it couldn't handle at least 3V though, since that's probably its voltage supply (3.3V).  Much more than that is not guaranteed unless specified.

Sounds like a case of - "if it works...it's working. If it doesn't work, its not working..."
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: Scooter123 on January 22, 2017, 10:04:52 PM
Man, I don't want to fry that SPDIF circuit, because the guy I've borrowed the unit from (actually I sold mine to him) will be really pissed, and I'll have to buy another 680.  So I think the safe bet is the HOSA box which acts at both the impedance and the voltage levels. 
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: noahbickart on January 26, 2017, 12:36:00 AM
try this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/880865-REG/Neutrik_NADITBNC_FX_Digital_Impedance_Transformer.html
Title: Re: AES3 Out to SPDIF In
Post by: MattH on January 27, 2017, 12:42:43 AM
I have run many an aes out from all kinds of equipment to the DR-680 with no adapters and never a problem.