Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: V2 gain settings  (Read 1159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OldNeumanntapr

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
  • Gender: Male
V2 gain settings
« on: March 04, 2016, 10:22:08 AM »
I haven't used a Lunatec V2 for about 15 years, and I recently bought another one. I will be using it next week with my Neumann KM140s, FOB.

What gain setting should I start off with? I usually run the -10db pads on the Neumanns in the on position with my Beyer MV-100, because of clipping problems I've had in the past. Should I continue to do so with the V2?

Thanks,

ONT-

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: V2 gain settings
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 11:02:39 AM »

NO to the pads. I never use on mic pads unless there is absolutely no way of avoiding clipping the inputs on the mic preamp. If you are in the impact zone at a loud show you may have to but otherwise I try to avoid it.

When I ran a V2 I usually started at 20dB gain and the trims in the middle. That way you can dial it back on the trim knobs and balance your channels. If it's loud you may want to start at 15dB instead.
MK41 > PFA > Aerco MP2/RAD MS2 > DR60d/DR2d
MBHO KA300 > Naiant PFA > SD MixPre6 (currently under construction)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City

"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline OldNeumanntapr

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 gain settings
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2016, 08:58:05 PM »
Thanks,

ONT-

Offline DSatz

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2371
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 gain settings
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2016, 10:00:07 PM »
I strongly agree with goodcooker about the pads on the KM 140s. Your V2's inputs will never be overloaded by any signal that those mikes can put out. A high threshold of input overload is one of the (several) virtues of all Grace preamps.

I wish I had a plausible excuse to own a V2 again; it was nice having something that was so straightforward and trustworthy.

--best regards
« Last Edit: March 16, 2016, 08:23:23 AM by DSatz »
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline OldNeumanntapr

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 gain settings
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2016, 02:08:28 AM »
I'll be using it for a  >:D show, so I wanted to have a pretty good idea of what to pre set the V2 for. It will be an amplified solo acoustic show.  I have heard the performer plays loud, but have never seen him before. Thanks for the advice.

ONT-

Offline waltmon

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1763
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 gain settings
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2016, 04:29:37 PM »
Def agree trim pots center...I think 20 is a good start forvm louder fob...but almost guarantee youll love that combo.
U89s, KM140's, KM150's w/Nick modified PFA active cables, V2, 744T, Mixpre-6

CA-14 > UBB > Tascam DR-2D

1 pound non-sequencial $50.00 bills

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.116 seconds with 29 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company